Thursday, January 28, 2010

I think everyone needs a Spinal Tap

Most people don't realize that one of the funniest movies around is This is Spinal Tap. This a mockumentary about a British Band that is touring for their comeback and they want to be known again. As they are touring they run into a bunch of problems along the way, like all the band members winding up with a cold sore on their lips, getting lost in an arena, and much more.

The movie starts Rob Reiner (from All in the Family), Christopher Guest, Harry Shearer (The Simpsons), and Michael McKean (Lenny from Lenny Squiggy, and SNL). All of these men worked on writing the movie about the fictitious band.

Shearer, McKean, and Guest play the main characters: Nigel, David, and Derrick. We get to follow them around as the band tours, and as it starts to fall apart again. After watching this movie, and getting to see The Tap Live May 26, 2009, they grow on you even more even though they are not a real band.

Many people may disagree with me that this is a great film that will make you laugh, but I bet there are more people who will agree with me. Many people have seen this film and many people have loved it, and I am one of them!

So I suggest people go out and see this film and have a good time with it. So out of 10 stars I give this film a 10.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Views on THe taking of Pelham 123

The Taking of Pelham 123 (Original)
When most people think of The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3, they think of the film staring Denzel Washington, not Walter Matthau. I just wanted to say, having seen both versions of the film, through my honest opinion, I think the original is much better than the remake. Many people may disagree with me on this, but as I've learned growing up in life, everyone has their own opinion. There are a few reasons why I think the original is better than the remake. I will get to those very shortly. Again, most people have to remember that the original version of The Taking of Pelham 123 was done in the 1970s, which means that this version is definitely going to be more over the top than the remake was in the summer of 2009.
One of the first reasons why I believe that this version is better is because of the cast that appears in this movie. Starting off, the star of the film is Walter Matthau as Zachary Garber. With Matthau as the lead in this film, you know that something can and will always happen. Not only that, he will somehow get his way, whether other people want him to or not.
Also in the cast for this film is Martin Balsam, who some people may remember as the foreman in the Henry Fonda film 12 Angry Men. Balsam plays the character of Mr. Green. He is the second in command to Mr. Blue on the job to hijack a New York City train. He is the only one who winds up getting caught. Why? Go ahead I'll wait while you ask yourself. OK the answer, he has a cold and is heard sneezing over the radio on the train a few times by Matthau's character. This is what gets him caught, as I mentioned before.
Another famous name is Jerry Stiller. Of course as many people know is the father of actor Ben. As the film goes along we find out that he is one of the transit officers working along with Garber. His is Garber's second in command.
Earl Hindman, who most people remember as Wilson W. Wilson, Jr., or simply Wilson, from the TV Show Home Improvement makes an appearance as Mr. Blue. You can tell that it is him by the sound of his voice. While watching this movie, I couldn't buy Hindman as a criminal of any kind.
All of these different people helped make this movie over the top, eccentric, and suspenseful. Let's see if you agree with me.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Post 100 Here's Joooooooohny! Part 2

As I've stated before, I think that Stanley Kubrick is a genius. If I haven't, Stanley Kubrick is a genius. The Shining is a great movie. This movie, like many of Kubrick's other movie, screws with your head and makes you think about one thing and something else happens. I think that this film is great! The reason is the cast, which is headed by the legendary Jack Nicholson. He makes this movie just about, or even more scary than it should be.
I say this because, The Shining makes you stay on edge the entire time that you are watching it. It makes you feel like you could possibly be next on Jack Torrance's list of people to talk too. The Shining made me feel like I was the camera person on the set, and that I was each and everyone of those characters.
Jack Nicholson made this movie outstanding. I say this, because Jack is one of the best actors of the last twenty or thirty years. He makes you believe his character also named Jack, is going insane, and wants you to go insane with him. Maybe this is just me, but this is how the character makes me feel. It's like he is saying come on, going crazy is fun, everyone is doing it.
On a scale of 1-10, I give this movie a 9 1/2 stars. Agree if you want, disagree if you want, because everyone has their own opinions and I respect that.

Monday, January 11, 2010

Hereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee's Johnny!!

Right now I am in the middle of watching Stanley Kubrick's The Shining. This is a very interesting movie staring Jack Nicholson. He plays a writer named Jack Torance, who has to move with his family to take of a hotel with his wife and son. When they get there, they are given a tour and shown where everything is. While Jack's wife Wendy and son Danny are on the tour of the kitchen and pantry area, one of the workers figures out that Danny has "The Shining."
While watching this movie each character has a different problem that helps define them.
The character of Jack is a struggling author, who is a drunk who has trouble controlling his demons. He cannot keep the demon of drinking under control, because he starts drinking and becomes violent again after telling Wendy that he wouldn't.
Wendy seems to be a loving wife, who is over trusting and very worry some. She is worried about their son Danny, and the habits that Jack falls into while at the isolated hotel. Wendy seems to be the character you can't stand, but you want to see what she does any way. I know that people will not agree with me, but this is how I feel.
Danny is the son that has some troubles. One thing you find out is that he has "a boy that lives in his mouth." He is always seen riding around the hotel on his big wheel. While he is doing that he always sees this two twin girls.
There will be a continuation of this blog when I finish the movie.

Thursday, January 07, 2010

Inside Man

The movie: Inside Man. The director: Spike Lee. The movie is about four people, who have different versions of the name of Steve; they walk into a bank dressed as painters, and go to rob the bank. While "Steve" is in there, they keep every worker and customer a hostage, and slowly let them out one by one if demands are met, or if they want more demands. The cast of this movie is: Clive Owen, Willem Defoe, Denzel Washington, and Jodie Foster.
As the movie goes on we start to find out more and more about the criminals as we do about the police officers. This is a situation that is a struggle for both sides and will make life easier if everything worked the way both sides wanted.

I am not going to ruin the ending for any readers out there, but this is a movie that makes you think, that's if you want to, this is the movie for you. How often do movies make you think?

Friday, January 01, 2010

1-1-10

This is my first post of the new year. i don't know if this will actually have anything to do with movies. Will I touch on them? Maybe. Will I talk about them 100%? NO. I don't even know what movies to talk about in this blog.
What can I say about movies heading into 2010? I really don't know. I don't even know what movies I am going to see this calendar year. It seems like as of now there are very few movies worth seeing. I know that sounds odd coming from a guy that loves his movies. Right now I will stick with the DVD's that I received for the Christmas holiday.
When I finish most of those I will post more blogs about them. I posted about the movie Memento, and I am deciding whether or not I will post about the first part of the Survivor Series Anthology (1987-1991). It is a tough choice, but if I decide to do it I will.
Until then over and out!!!!!!!!!