Saturday, February 27, 2010

I think I need a Cop Out

Today I saw the new Kevin Smith film Cop Out, starring Tracy Morgan (Brian Fellow) and Bruce Willis (aka Bruno). I just want to say that enjoyed Willis in the Die Hard movies, but I am not really a Tracy Morgan fan, but the one thing that I can say is that these two men were freaking hillarious together.

Let me say that I was pretty psyched to see this film. The reason why I say this, is because I am a big Kevin Smith fan. Call me biased if you will..... OK there I waited, hoped you did it.

Now on to further matters, I must say that this movie really made me laugh multiple times. Most of the time I laughed it was because of Morgan, who as I said I am not a fan of. His reaction, to what happened or to Willis made the movie work. The same thing with Willis worked as well.

I have to say this film gets an 8 out of 10!


Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Paranaormal Activity-A Scary Ghost Story I think not

Many people who have seen Paranormal Activity told me, "Joe it's a scary movie. It'll make you scream cry, and possibly wet yourself!" I gave them a look in my attempt to say "are you sh*tting me!" I knew that wouldn't happen, but these co-workers kept insisting that it would. I would tell them that a movie like this wouldn't do that, because I have seen so many horror movies, and it takes a lot to scare the crap out of me.

I held out as long as I could without seeing Paranormal Activity, but last week I cave and got the DVD, and watched it. This is one of those movies where you could feel the tension building, but it was a big let down, because all the times, where I was supposed to be scared, I wasn't.

I just have to say that this film was a big let down in the horror/drama/thriller category. I feel that this movie could've been a hell of a lot better. I don't know if I was the only one let down by this, but I did not enjoy this.

On A scale of 1-10, I give this film a 1/4 star

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Horror Movie Rules

As many people know, there are always rules to everykind of movie out there; including the horror movie. Last night, while I was at the bar for wings, I was having a conversation with a couple of guys, who are weekly patrons like me, about certain movies, and the rules that are usually followed. Yes, we all agreed that these rules are followed whenever you watch a horror movie, yes, any horror movie.

The four of us stated that there were at least five count'em five rules that are followed in every horror movie, that you will see, or that you have ever heard of. The reason why these rules, which I will get to in a few, are followed, is because if one type of formula works, hey stick with it.

Rule 1) The "minority" must die before the movie is over! The reason why this is one of the rules is because of a few things. One of the reasons why the minority will dies is because they are 1-stupid enough to go after the killer; 2-They always split up or get separated from the rest of the group; 3-They have to be the "hero;" 4-they leave the scene so you know they die the second they leave.

Rule 2) The Virgin Dies! Why? Because the dumbass has nobody or nothing to preoccupy their time with. They wonder off from the group because every one else is having sex (I get to this group soon), and they feel uncomfortable. Another reason is because they want to see if the "myths" they've heard about were true (ie. the remake of Friday the 13th).

Rule 3) The couple having sex dies! The reason for this has to be obvious. Do I really need to go into this? Answer: Yes! The main reason why they so is simple. They seperate from the group, start getting it on, and one hears something and the guy has to check it out, guy is killed, girl is killed.

Rule 4) The topless girl dies? Simply because nobody goes skinny dipping by themselves. Question: when something happens why do they think it is a friend.

Rule 5) The killer catches up to them. They think that the killer (ie Jason, Pinhead, Michael Myers, Freddy Kruger, and Chucky) are dead and they run away. Somehow unbeknownst to the viewer, the killer finds a way to some how catch up, and try and kill them, but the person gets saved.




Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Discrimination in Hollyweird

Yesterday, on the news, I heard an interesting story, involving the man above. Some of you might know who he is, and some of you might not. The man above is director/actor Kevin Smith. While on a flight that he decided to take, he was asked to exit the plane, because he did not fit in the seat. This doesn't seem right.

Usually Smith will tell you that on a flight he will but two seats because he is a larger gentleman like myself. The only reason why he didn't this time was because he decided to leave earlier than normal. If someone is larger, like Smith, couldn't the attendants have shifted some people around so he could fit instead of embarrassing him.


This is honestly a load of shit to treat a somewhat famous director like this!!!!!!!

Monday, February 08, 2010

Football Post

I know most people are wondering "what does football have to do with movies?" This is what I am about to tell you. Football comes into play, because I am going to talk about the football film Rudy starring Sean Astin, son of John "Gomez Adams" Astin, and Patty Duke, as Dan "Rudy" Ruettiger (SP?).

I am writing this blog about Rudy, considering that the Super Bowl (which the Saints won) took place. I am writing this blog to show that if one person or team works hard enough, they can accomplish their dreams. This is what happened to Rudy (Astin), and to the Saints in Miami on February 7, 2010.

I bring up that point because in the film, it tells the story about how Rudy (Astin) wants to play football for Notre Dame, but is told that he is not good enough, big enough and just can't make it. So, Rudy decides to prove everyone wrong, just like the Saints, and makes it to Notre Dame, and works at accomplishing his dreams.

Rudy proving that he can accomplish his dreams, is just like the Saints accomplishing their dreams and winning the Super Bowl of February 7, 2010. They fought and fought, just like Rudy, past every obstacle, competitor, and person who tries to hold them down and prove that they couldn't do it. I say that, because that is exactly what happened in both cases.

Hey if you want to disagree, go right ahead. If you want to agree, go right ahead, tell me I want to hear it.

Friday, February 05, 2010

War Movies

This is a topic that I have yet to touch on. I guess I chose war movies, because they are a type of movie that catch my attention. I don't remember when it started. Maybe it was around my junior year of high school, after having an awesome history teacher . Now back to the topic. I guess watching all these war movies make you think and show you what all of the people in the military have gone through while serving this country that we call home or what ever country is called home.

One of the first war movies that I will admit to enjoying is Saving Private Ryan starring Tom Hanks and Matt Damon. It tells the story of D-Day or June 6, 1944, when U.S. Soldiers stormed the beaches at Normandy. Not only does it do that, it tells the story of an army platoon (headed by Hanks) who has to go out and find Pvt. James F. Ryan, to tell him that he is being sent home from active duty at that time. The reason is because all of his brothers who were serving in the same platoon were all killed and he was the only one out of the five (?) who survived. (That part was actually happened in another branch, and the rule was put into affect that they can serve in the same branch, but not the same platoon.)

The platoon looking for Ryan runs into some trouble when a few of their men are killed. That's only the small problem. The biggest problem is when they actually find Ryan. Why is that the biggest problem you ask? They find the person with the right name but from the wrong state. They Found James F. Ryan from Minnesota, not Iowa.

The second one is Pearl Harbor. This tells about the Japanese attack on the Pearl Harbor Naval base in Hawaii. It also tells the story of two friends who want to go into the service together. It is an interesting film that tells a story about the times and days leading up to December 7, 1941--The Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

Both of these movies make me have more respect for the people who serve and fight for their countries during war time

Wednesday, February 03, 2010

Movie Stars

This blog is going to be a little bit different. Today I am going to try and talk about movie stars. I mean there are many different stars, ranging from Charlie Chaplin, and Buster Keaton, to Ben Afflack and Matt Damon. Yes, I know all four of these actors are very diffrerent from each other, but they all bring enjoyment to people no matter what period of time you live in.

First I am going to start with Chaplin and Keaton. Both of these men were very big actors in the silent movie era. Yes folks, there was a time when movie had no sound and they were in black and white.

Chaplin was originally a vaudeville actor born in England. His most famous character was known as "The Tramp." Chaplin was an actor who was and still loved by many even today. He made many films such as The Immigrant, One AM, and his most famous The Great Dictator, which he made to poke fun at German Dictator Adolph Hitler.

Buster Keaton was a big film star at the same time as Chaplin. Keaton made such movies as The General, Sherlock Jr., and many more. Keaton earned the nickname of "Stone Face." He got the name because he hardly ever showed emotion whatsoever while on screen.

These actors paved the way for such other actors as Humphrey Bogart, James Cagney, Jimmy Stewart, and many more leading to the stars that we have today.

Many of these are great because of certain films that they have made and will always be remembered for them and for that they are appriciated!