Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Raging Bull

About two weeks ago I watched one of the greatest movies of all time. That movie Raging Bull. This is the story of boxing great Jake Lamotta. It is the greatest boxing movie of all time. Not to put down Ali, but no boxing movie can stand up to this movie. No matter what anyone says, this movie shows the rise and fall of a boxing great. This also show what can happen to anyone in life, famous or not.

Out of 10 stars it gets 10

Sunday, November 02, 2008

DP, Editor, Looks like you've got you shit covered


Today November 2, 2008, I saw Kevin Smith's new movie Zack and Miri Make a Porno. It was a very entertaining movie. I am not saying this because I am a huge Kevin Smith fan. It was one of those movies that I laugh all the way through, even if other people weren't laughing. The same thing had happend with my friend Andrea who had went with me. Some times it felt like people were looking at us if we were crazy, when we the only two laughing.
A little back story. This is about two friends Zack and Miri, who are about to loose their apartment because they didn't pay any bills. The reason, really bad jobs. So after going to their 10 year high school reunion, they realize that they are worse off than anyone else. Their reason to get money back, they decide to make a porno. They go through the process of writing scripts, their first one was entitled Star Whores, and the second one that works out for them.
As part of the process they have to ask their friend Delaney to give them the money and make him a producer on the project, he decides to do it. This works out for them.
There are two people that were in Zack and Miri, that had gotten me to laugh, and of course they are Jason Mewes (Jay of Jay and Silent Bob Fame), and Jeff Anderson (Randall of Clerks fame). These two were the funniest in the cast.

Out of 10 stars I give it 10


Sunday, October 26, 2008

The View Askewniverse

I know it's been a long time since the last blog, that I wrote. This time I am going to write about something that I have not written about before, and that is The View Askewinverse. For those of you asking, what is the View Askewniverse, it is the universe, surrounding Kevin Smith's Production company View Askew. The company is called View Askew for a reason, and that reason is that your view is askewed when you watch one of Smith's movie. It is askew, whether it be good or bad, that is what he wants you to happen.
For those of you who don't know the movies that are part of this universe are Clerks, Mallrats,Drawing Flies, Chasing Amy, Vulgar, Dogma, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back,Jersey Girl, Clerks II, and as of Friday, Zack and Miri Make a Porno. A majority of these films have the reoccurring characters, such as Jay and Silent Bob. The Only ones that so not are Drawing Flies, Vulgar, and Zack and Miri.
I find these movies made by Smith and company to be a great set of movies. I know there are people who disagree with me, but that is their opinion, and I'll respect that.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Movies from our past

I've realized that most people remember things from their childhood, For me one movie or character that stands out are the Ernest P. Worrell movies. the reason why I remember these is because they made you feel like these things that happen, could happen to you. Maybe that is just me, but it is true.
There are a couple of things that you knew were always going to happen with the Ernest movie: 1. A story that turns out worse than normal. 2. Ernest was going to talk to his friend Vern who you never saw. 3. Jim Varney (Ernest) was going to play 12 characters, and 4. it works out in the end with a few bumps and bruises.
There is one question that I wanted answered, but I think I have one. The question is: why don't we ever see Vern? The answer, we are Vern!

Friday, August 01, 2008

Movies from our Childhoods

I just wanted to let all readers know that I will soon be writing about a movie from my childhood. It is a movie that I love. It involves something that's yellow, a children's television show, and something that's eight feet tall. It also includes some "grouchy things if you catch my drift.

Sunday, July 20, 2008

A Clockwork Orange

A Clockwork Orange. What can we say about this film by Stanley Kubrick. It is one of those movies that makes you feel like you are tripping on acid, LSD, or some other mind altering drug.
This movie tells the story of a hooligan, or a gangsta (by today's standards), named Alex. The movie tells about his trials and tribulations of his life in England. It also tells how his life changes because he spent time in jail. While Alex was in jail, he would volunteer to go through this "life altering" correction, which would allow his to become a non violent person. After that everything went down hill. On a scale of 1-10, I'll give this movie a 8.75

Friday, June 20, 2008

Juno, this movie was decent


Just recently I had watched the movie Juno, which is a movie about a teenage girl named Juno who gets pregnant by her friend/boyfriend Paulie Bleeker. After she finds out Juno decides to give the baby up to a family that she finds in a newspaper. Juno decides to do this because she doesn't feel that she can take of the baby and she doesn't want to get an abortion.
While watching this movie it doesn't look like it is going to work out, but in a what is some what of a "story-book 'Cinderella'" ending everything works out and.... I'm not going to say anything else because I don't want to ruin the ending for people who haven't seen this movie yet.
On a scale of one to ten I give this movie an 8

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

It hurts getting hit in The Balls of Fury

Just recently I had watched the ping pong movie Balls of Fury. Now don't get me wrong, it wasn't a great movie, but it had its moments. It was a hell of a lot funnier to me than, Walk Hard. maybe this is just me, or maybe it is the fact that Christopher Walken saved this movie from being a flop of a movie. I guess being a film major, I see things about movies a lot differently than everyone else. Agree with me about my opinion of this movie being ok and not being the greatest, or not, I really don't care!

Saturday, June 07, 2008

Walking Hard because we need Cox; Dewey Cox that is

Many people told the movie Walk Hard:The Dewey Cox Story was very, very good. They also told me it was funny, and that it would make me laugh. I totally disagree. IT was not very, very funny, and it did not make me laugh. I was waiting 90 mins. for something to laugh at, but never found it. I am sorry to disappoint the many people that told me this John C. Reilly movie was funny. I did not find any of the movie funny at all. to me it was a really bad "after school special," for those of you who remember those. I know most of you don't, but trust me on this one, I've seen worse movie (i.e. Deconstructing Harry) that were better that this.
Hate me all you want for saying this, but this is how I totally truly feel about this movie and I will also continue to feel like this.

Friday, February 29, 2008

The very special Feb. 29th movie post

Honestly, to tell you the truth I am writing this movie blog today, because leap years happen once every four years, yeah, yeah, I know, thanks for pointing that out Captain Obvious. Just writing this to let people know that I have hit a milestone with the DVDs. Now here's where you guys reading this, and that's probably very few of you, because I can hear the crickets chirping.But for those of you who are reading, I am writing because The milestone, which I'll get to in a minute or so, comes on this Feb. 29, which happens once every four years. Ok, now to get to the milestone, 400 DVDs. That is all

Monday, February 25, 2008

In the Valley of Elah


This was a very interesting movie that starred Tommy Lee Jones and Charlize Theron. This is about a soldier named Mike Deerfield, whose father Henry (played by Jones) is trying to find him after he comes back from Iraq and goes AWOL.
Henry finds out that his son has gone AWOL when the base calls the home to look for him. Henry takes his case to the police, but is told that he has to go to the military police, but wants the state police to take care of it. The reason for it is because he is a former army man and knows how they will work.
Henry forces his way into helping the police find his son and find out what happened; and also find out who did it. This happens the entire movie which was interesting, because it had twists and turns the entire time, and makes you think what happened, who did it, and what certain things could mean when the characters see them and are trying to go after the attackers. This movie will make you think. I want you to go see this movie.

Tuesday, January 08, 2008

The Simpsonos Movie, Casino, The Weird Al show, and Halloween (2007)

These are some of the other movies, that I have received as Christmas presents and watched since obtaining them. They all have their moments that make them really, really good movies. I enjoyed every single one of them. This isn't going to be one of those blogs that drags on about them.
First was the Simpson's Movie. This movie was more entertaining the second time around when I saw it on DVD. It seemed like the moments that weren't funny in the theater, were funnier on DVD. Why does that always happen? One thing that was funny on the DVD, but not in the theater was the whole "Spider Pig/Harry Plopper" thing. I think that is weird this time around. This movie was very good. This time it gets a 6 out of 10.
Casino; what can I say about that. Awesome movie, with Joe Pesci, Al Pacino, and Sharon Stone. It is about a criminal/gangster/mob guy, who is running a respectable casino in Vegas of all places. The only thing is that he is running it without the proper papers that he needs, and gets caught. In that process, Ace's wife, played by Sharon Stone is stealing his money to give it to someone else. In the end everything is made right, and Joe Pesci's character of Nicky is killed off.
The Weird Al Show was extremely hysterical from beginning to end. I loved each and every moment of it. There is no other to describe it, other than "Weird," if you will.There were such other participants on the show such as John Tesh, Ron Propeil, Tony Little, Victoria Jackson, The BareNaked Ladies, The Hooded Avenger, and Harvey The Wonder Hamster.
The 2007 Version of Halloween. Way different from the original, but it wasn't horrible. It made you think when you were watching it. It was way out there, as was any Rob Zombie movie. What Can I say?