Thursday, December 31, 2009

Final Post of '09

This post is the final post of 2009. This is about the what I think of A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors. I have to say this film was way different than I though that it would be. I am not saying that it is a extravagant film such as Citizen Kane or Gone With the Wind, but it is a great way to keep an awesome horror movie icon like Freddy Krueger alive.
I know many people might think that I am crazy for say that Krueger is one of the best, but I believe that to be true. This movie tells how Freddy comes alive in peoples dreams just like the previous two films, but this time he is attacking the dreams of kids who are in a hospital for other problems that they all have.
Technical things like the lighting help tell the story, and help us become one with the characters. It allows you to feel all nervous and it wants you to feel creeped out and scared so that you will hope that this doesn't happen to you. I know the movie is fake, but sometimes it feels good to get a scare. Getting a scare from a movie like this, can make life fun.
This movie brings out the fun of the 1980s, and the fun of being scared. Many people may not agree with me.

Monday, December 28, 2009

Memento


Memento is a really interesting film about a man named Leonard, who has a memory problem. He has a short term memory problem after there is an accident involving his wife a few years before. His wife is raped and murdered, and because of this he cannot remember anything after this problem. Because of the events involving his wife, he can only retain information for a short period of time. To help try and jog his memory, Leonard keeps notes, and takes pictures of people places and things that he has seen and has been to.
As the movie goes on, Leonard tries to find the man named John G. who was suspected of raping and murdering Leonard's wife. While this is happening Leonard has people throwing off track and people trying to help him. This movie certainly screws with your head. It makes you feel like you can guess what is going to happen next, but you can't. The reason why you can't is you see the scene and then you see it again, with a little bit more information added. Another scene is shown, and then it goes back to the original scene and the last bit of information is added which makes everything come together.
To paraphrase a Tim Curry line from The Rocky Horror Picture Show, This is a mental mind screw. I have to agree with this. Memento really screws with your head. It really makes you think, like you never thought before. It is hard to keep track of what is really going on. Tell me what you think!!!! I give this film a 9

Friday, December 25, 2009

The new Lot

The new lot of Christmas DVD's has come in. As soon as I start getting done with most of them, I will start writing reviews. This may take a while because there are so many different ones, but I will do what I can to do it.
I don't know exactly how there are of you out there reading this, but the reviews will keep coming, They will start slowly, but they will start coming within the next couple of days.
So, as soon as this process starts moving, there will be more to follow. Until then, it will be up when it will be up. I honestly know how long it will take me to post all of the movie reviews, but I have a lot of watching to do. For any of you out there who do read this, I just ask for some time, and I will make sure reviews are produced.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Movies in General

I know that there are many different kinds of films out in the world for people to like. Yes, I'll admit it, I have been known to like some bad movies. Yes, everyone else does too; they just do it a lot more than I do. No, I'm not saying that I am going to cut off all communication with these people. Maybe I should with some of them. Again, I'll admit my movie choices aren't always that great, but I have been known to pick out some good movies.
A lot of times, I have the conversation of bad movie picking with people at my job. These people will tell me that they are going to see whatever movie it is. It's usually, hell it's always the bad movie. When I tell these people "don't see that, it's crap" they don't believe me. Then, the next time I see them, I get asked "why the hell didn't you convince me to see that?" Of course, my response is "I did you dumbass, but you didn't listen!"
Again, I'll say that I do not always pick the greatest movies around. The point that I am getting at is, "listen to the film student, who tells you not to see a piece of shit movie."
I know this seems like a lot of rambling and raving and carrying on, but I wanted to get my feelings out there.

Sunday, December 06, 2009

S. Darko The "Sequel" Eight years Later


S. Darko is the "sequel," or as the movie crew calls it, the "continuation" of Donnie Darko. S. Darko follows Samantha Darko, Donnie's youngest sister on a trip seven years after his death. It tells her story, while she is on a road trip with one of her friends. It has the same concept of Donnie Darko. There is time travel involved, if you are into that type of thing.
There are even more connections to the first movie, which I will not speak of if you never saw it. The movie is rather interesting, and easier to follow than the movie Donnie. OK, both were easy to follow, but this one is easier to follow if you saw the first film.
This movie has a great story, great characters, a great plot, theme, and many other things. I am not bragging about how great it is, or saying you should go out get the DVD and saying you should watch it. OK I am saying the second part. I feel that you will enjoy this film, because I know I did.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Air Heads

Well. What can I say about the movie AirHeads? The first thing is that for me it is a Thanksgiving tradition. Every year around this time, I watch the movie about three wannabe rock 'n' rollers Chazz (Brendan Fraser), Rex (Steve Buscemi), and Pip (Adam Sandler). This movie tells the story about what happens when these three guys break into a radio station in order to get their song played.
While they are there, they hold up the radio station with fake uzi's , which they fill with hot pepper sauce, from the toy store that Rex works in. While they are in the studio, they force Disc Jockey, Ian the Shark to put them on the radio. In the process of being on the radio, a large croup of people show up to support them. The only bad thing is the cops show up, because one of the other workers played by Michael Richards, calls them in to stop what is happening.
All in all, they get their song played, but they also got to play their song live from jail.

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

BASEketball

Well. what can be said about a movie about a game that is two sports in one? Well a lot actually. This movie is about three friends Joe "Air man," "Coop" Coop (Trey Parker), Doug "Sir Swish" Reemer, and Kenny "Squeak," "Little Bitch" Scolari. They are three guys who wind up creating a game that combines baseball and basket ball rules.
Eventually it becomes a national sport, and there are other certain rules about shooting, playing, not trading players, not moving teams to other cites, and so on. Each character is someone that you know or it could be you. Wither way, this movie is funny it makes you laugh, it makes you cry, but you should go out and see this film.

Monday, October 19, 2009

Planet of the Apes


I know I've posted on this movie and series before. The only reason why I am posting again, is because an interesting question was asked of me the other day while watching the remake. Before I get to that, let me just say I watched the original, and remake for a paper, that I have to hand in for an independent study at school.
Ok, now I will get to the question that was asked of me. That was "Why did the remake end the way it did?" Before answering that I though of two buddies of mine, and gave an answer they would give. That answer was "It's freaking Planet of the Apes, do you really need a reason?" Yes, I know my answer was a question, but it answer it. Of I get told that answer couldn't be bought at a 99 cent store, but it's just one of those answers that holds up.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Many different movie

Lately, I've been watching plenty of movies. The reason, I am doing an independent study at school and am doing the paper on remakes. IT is an interesting topic to do the paper on, but it is so tedious, to do all this work. All the movie are great, but it's like why do remakes. That is my question? It seems weird, that some movies that most of us have seen were remade. sometimes both films were great, some one was good and one was bad, or both were just bad. Hopefully people can agree with me. Well it's your choice

Friday, August 28, 2009

Halloween II vs. Halloween II

This is blog pitting Halloween II against Halloween II, which you can plainly see. I am just writing this to say that I saw Rob Zombie's version of this movie today (8/28) or yesterday if you read this after midnight. I thought this movie would be good, but it really wasn't. I just don't know what it was, but I honestly think that the story didn't make much sense. My question is this MR. Zombie: Why stray from the original story? It was fine just the way it was.
Don't get me wrong I enjoyed his other movies, but I am not talking about them right now. I am talking about his version of Halloween II compared to John Carpenter and Debra Hill's version. With Hill and Carpenter's version, they pick up where their 1978 version of Halloween ended. It picks up when Loomis played by Donald Pleasance shoots Meyers, and thinks he kills him. Rob Zombies version does not do this. This again leads to the question that I asked above. Go ahead and read it again.
The entire hour and forty-five minutes I was in there, I kept telling myself, "this isn't right, and it doesn't make sense." I will not ruin the story for those of you who haven't seen it, but trust me it doesn't make sense. All I will say is that it doesn't pick up where his remake of Halloween leaves off.
On a scale of 1-10 stars I give this 1.5 stars!

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Damn it Janet

People may or may not agree with me on this, but I think that Richard O'Brien's movie, The Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of the greatest cult classic movies around. There are many reasons why I say this. Again, many people might not agree with me, but I am going to tell you my readers, if there are any of you, why I love this movie.
1) The story- The story in this movie might be an odd at its best, but I find it enjoyable. It tells about two kids Brad Majors (Barry Bostwick) and Janet Weiss (Susan Sarandon), who get lost after going to a wedding. While driving they make a wrong turn, and wind up by this castle, which is owned by Dr. Frank N. Furter (Tim Curry), who they find out many things about. One of the things they found about him that Furter created a man to love.
2) The Characters- Each character bought something to the story. Frank N. Furter is the gay scientist who one of the three main characters. He is the man who runs this castle that Brad and Janet come across when they get lost. Furter has a bunch of servants who work for him
3) Brad and Janet- The two kids who get lost and wind up at the castle and are trapped there. While there, they both try to find their way out, but fail miserably, until the end of the movie until they are saved. They meet every one of Furter's servants while they are in this castle.
4) Riff-Raff, Magenta, and Columbia- These three, how do I put this nicely, "freaks" who work for Frank N. Furter, help him keep, our hero and heroine, in this castle. Throughout the movie, they help out, until the very end.
5) Eddie- Is a motorcycle riding zombie, played by Meatloaf . He has a few moments in the film, but doesn't last very long, and you'll find out why.
There are many more reasons. If you'd like to find out what they are ask me.

Friday, August 07, 2009

The Real American Hero?

I just finished watching the new G.I. JOE movie The Rise of the Cobra. I am going to start off by saying that it wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible, either. I mean it could have been better if the directors and producers, put in more characters, like the ledgendary Sgt. Slaughter. Having the Sarge in the movie, would have made it even better.
No, I'm not saying that because I am a fan of the Sarge, but come on, that's who made GI JOE. Honestly, I feel like having the Sarge in there, could have worked better than having Hawk run everything. To me this would have been great, because in the cartoon world of the JOE's the Sarge had a way of running everything.
I honestly would have made the world of the Global Integrated Joint Operating Entity a better feel
One question if they are the American Hero, why did they save Russia? If you know, tell me, because I want to know, because knowing is half the battle.

Thursday, July 16, 2009

The Breakfast Club


When thinking about the 1980s one of the first movies I think of is John Hughes' The Breakfast Club. Many people may or may not do the same, but I know I do.In a way what I think Hughes is trying to do is show us that we're all one of or all of these five people.
In a way, I have to agree, that we are all an athlete, a basket case, a princess, a criminal and a brain. We are not these people in every sense of the word, but, we in a way are. I say that, because that's the groups people in high school fit into, whether or not they like it.
I also feel that Hughes is trying to tell us, that if we look inside ourselves we can find out who we really are, and we can connect and become friends with anyone if we choose to. We may not have to like someone but we can make an attempt to be like these people and get along and get to know people.

Thursday, July 02, 2009

Spike Lee says that "She's Gotta Have It."


Just recently, I watched the Spike Lee movie She's Gotta Have It. The movie follows the character of Nola Darling, who has to have it. by "it" you know what I mean. The movie follows Nola's troubles of which man, Mars, Jamie, or Greer. Lee allows us to follow the troubles of Nola's story, because in a way he wants us to see that she has a problem, and she either needs to fix it or have something bad happen to her.
While watching this, I've noticed the way Lee uses certain camera movements and lighting choices to make the movie work. It makes you really feel that you are those characters, you are on that set, and you want to really want to be part of that story. I honestly think that Spike Lee does this really well. Lee draws you into the story by doing this, so that way you can see and feel what he was going through and feeling while he was writing and making this movie.
I honestly don't know what caused Lee to write a movie about a female sex addict, but the story was interesting. It really makes you think about what people are really like in the real world. What I think Lee is trying to say is watch out who you know, because they might not be who you think they are.

Thursday, June 18, 2009

I met the Spartans....

And I was deeply disappointed. I thought it was going to be funny, but it really wasn't. I mean Don't get me wrong I liked Epic Movie, and Date Movie, but this one not so much. I honestly don't know what it was. I usually love spoof movies, (i.e. Spaceballs), but I just couldn't get into this. Maybe I'm getting old, maybe I'm losing my sense of humor, maybe my humor is changing. I really cannot say.
Yeah, people will look at me as being old, which I might be, but I guess, there is the fact that, it is very hard to make me laugh. I guess that's because of Kevin Smith, and his ever so smart humor, from Clerks on. Now that I look at it, that is a big reason why, but I guess after you're trained to laugh at one thing, you wouldn't laugh at something else unless you turn it in to something smart.
Getting Back to Meet the Spartans, I just didn't think that it was funny. I guess it wasn't written well enough to get me to laugh loud and obnoxiously, but it happens sometimes.
I didn't laugh. So I guess, they'll have to try harder

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Animals as characters in movies

How many times do you see an animal as a main character, or a character that the story is focused on? Answer, not to many. Some of the very few films that do that are Jurassic Park, Howard the Duck, and The Jungle book, come to my mind right away. Why? I can't really say. It's just one of these weird things that I think of while being a film student. Is it weird to everyone else? Yes. Do people think that I am weird for thinking about it? Yes. But ya know what? No one else thinks about it.
This is one of those topics that can come up between myself and other film students. The reason that it does, is because we have run out of other things to talk about. It does seem weird to everyone else, but we enjoy it because, again how often do you see this, or how many times do you get to talk about what the animals represent instead of people.
Now when you readers (if there are any of you), who will read this, will start to think about this now. Don't get me wrong it seems logic to think about this, if you must. In the words of NIKE, "Just do it!"

Friday, June 05, 2009

FanBoys

Yesterday, I had watched the comedy film FanBoys. To me it was a very funny movie. I am not being Biased because I know the guy Dan Pulick who came up with the story and worked on some of the script.
I honestly thought the story was good. The first reason why is because, FanBoys proves to us that all of love something from our childhood, whether or not we admit it. Sometime if we love something enough we should go for it, even if we fail.
Another reason why I liked this film is because it teaches us that sometimes we need to reconnect with people and places that we lost connections to while trying to grow up and move out into the real world.
These are two of the many things that I learned from this movie, and hope that people can learn the same things whether or not they enjoy FanBoys."

Sunday, May 24, 2009

1980s movies

Yeah, I know movies from the ‘80s are corny, and maybe dumb to kids now a days. But, to tell you the truth they don’t know what they’re missing. Yeah, these movies may have bad stories, characters a much more working against them, but it happens. How do I say this? Being a film student, I feel that kids born in the 1990s should really watch movies from the 1980s. Yeah, they’ll think they’re weird, but it will bring a form of entertainment to everyone. I think it will show them that not all blockbusters had CGI, special effects, and sharks with laser beams attached to the tops of their frickin’ heads.
I know this may make oldity (As someone nicely put it), kick in, but what else can I say?
The reason I bring this up is because I am watching the 1980s classic Adventures in Babysitting. It got me to think about how 1980s movie can and are better than a lot of other movies that have come out in the last ten to fifteen years. No, I’m not saying that ‘90s movies are bad, some are and some aren’t, but we can’t fix that.
Do I expect everyone to agree with me on this? No! But I know you’ll to the death my right to say it. Agree if you want, disagree if you have to, but just remember on things.
Balls in your mouth, bust if ya must!!

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Movies and Summer

I know the summer is coming and the blockbusters are making their way into the theaters, but are all of these movies going to be blockbuster? Some yes, some maybe, and some absolutely not. The reason why I say this is because all of these movies get hyped up for release and people go and spend their twelve dollars on a tickets and either really like the movie, or be totally devastated by it.

Continuing on with this topic of discussion, which usually ends with me arguing with someone about what will be a good summer blockbuster, people always find out that I am right, but won’t tell me. I bring this up because I always have these coital debates with people at work. Of course, they choose not to believe me when I tell them, so I let then suffer. I tell them, “Oh______(whoever it is), don’t see that movie. It’s going to be bad.” What happens, they see it, they waste their money, and then they tell me, “you’re the film student, why didn’t you tell me?” I did but they didn’t listen. This happens every year when the summer blockbusters come out.

What I’m really trying to get at is why wouldn’t you listen to the FILM STUDENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? Just curious? So guess what? I’ll just let you waste your money on shitty movies.

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Death To Woody Allen Films

I guess the main reason I am writing this blog, is for my great hatred and dislike of Woody Allen movies. People may ask me why I strongly dislike Mr. Allen and his film, and I tell them as nicley as possible "He makes me feel like my brain is leaking out of my ears." I am not saying they have to like my favorite director Kevin Smith, but at least he has some humor to him.
Woody Allen's movies take what feels like forever, forever, FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know people may like his films, but to me they are worse than getting kicked in the nut sack, and that is pretty painful.
All I am saying is people wake up and smell the coffee, Allen is possibly one of the worst filmmakers ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Who are these "Mystery Men?"

They are a group of people trying to save the world, when the super heroes we count on aren’t there. These people are a fork-wielding hero known as the Blue Raja, The Bowler, who throws a bowling ball with her dead father’s skull in it, a “gas specialist,” known as the Spleen, an enraged man known as Mr. Furious, The Shoveler, who does damage with hit shovel, and the Invisible Kid.

They are out to save the world, after Cassanova, and his Disco Boys killed Captain Amazing. Nobody believes that they could do it, but they prove them wrong. With a little hard work, and learning how to use their weapons correctly, they become the ultimate fighting team.

Yes, you know that they are going to prevail in the end, but it’s like you want everything to be easy for them, even though you know it won’t be. I have to say that after seeing this movie for the first time in 10 years, I enjoyed it. It made me laugh in some spots, but this made me wonder why I didn’t like it in the first place.

On a scale of 1-10, I’ll give it an 8 ½ stars!

Thursday, April 09, 2009

Super Hero Movies

Super hero movies are pretty cool, if you think about it. I know everyone love the Spiderman, Superman, Ironman, Incredible Hulk movies. I agree they are good, but one movie that I will give a review of, when I am done watching it is Mystery Men. For those of you who don't know, that stars Ben Stiller, Janeane Garafalo, William H. Macy, Kel Mitchell (Keenan and Kel Fame), Paul Rubens (Pee-wee Herman Fame), and many more. I honestly think that think that is is better than a lot of other super hero movies, because, to me it allows us to see the uprising of smaller unknown heroes.
People may look at me like I am crazy, but I think this is true. It has been about 10 years since I've seen Mystery Men, ehich came out during my junior year of High school (which would make me old by some peoples standards). I will finish watching it and let everyone know what I think, and wether or not there should be a sequel, even though it is 10 years later.
Sure, people are saying I am crazy for saying that, but guess what, I don't care.

over & out

Tuesday, April 07, 2009

Remakes.

I hate it when I have conversations about remakes. People who I know and work with will tell me "Oh this movie is good!" They get mad at me when I tell them "Oh I saw this movie when it was.." Why because I am telling you that you have no idea what you mean.
An example of this when I was talking to one girl about I Am Legend. She told me it was a good movie and that I should go and see it. I told her I did see when it was first released as the Last Man on Earth Starring Vincent Price. I also told her that I also told her I saw it the second time when it was released as the Omega Man, starring Charlton Heston.
She gets mad at me and tells me that I'm being a jerk, and I was like why? Is it because I told you don't listen to the film student!!

Friday, April 03, 2009

Random post

Right now there aren't too many good movies out there. What I mean is, there are horrible movies, which were funny when I saw them when I was twelve, for example this new movie with Seth Rogen. You know, this one were he is a mall cop. The fat guy already did that was from King of Queens. This movie was similar to something I saw when I was twelve. Here’s an example it’s not a great one, but Liar, Liar starring Jim Carrey. Same movie, different jobs same outcome. A guy, who hates his job, makes fun of it and the possibility of things working out in the end.

I bring this up because it happens, and when I tell people, “Oh, I saw this movie when it was….” They get mad at me. For example, this one girl I work with tells me I am Legend was a good movie, I told her “it was better the first time I saw it as The Last Man on Earth.” She then gets mad at me and I tell her “it also better the second time when I saw it as the remake Omega Man.” She gets mad at me even more. I know it’s annoying that I do this, but I am trying to educate people on film and movies a bit, before they say some jackass-y movie is good.

Another example of a movie that is supposed to be good is Watchmen, nope, no way, no how, saw this a long time ago when it was called Masters of the Universe. Sorry folks, but as a film major, I can tell simply by the commercials that something is good, and Watchmen wasn’t. For me sitting through a bad movie like this one, which I didn’t, The Breakup, or Deconstructing Harry is like getting kicked in the no-no parts over and over.

One other thing on this, I hate people tell me oh some movie is going to be good, I tell them it’s not, they don’t listen, go out see it and waste there money. The best this is afterwards they come back and tell me it’s my fault they saw a bad movie. Bullshit! Pardon my French; you have a mind of your own to either see the movie, or listen to a guy who knows movies.

Monday, March 16, 2009

A long time since the last post

The last time that I posted anything, was back after I finished watching The Wrestler. The only movie I have seen in the last month or so was Friday the 13th and that wasn't even good enough to post anything on, which is why I didnt bother doing so. The next movie I see, I will post something then.

Thursday, February 05, 2009

The Wrestler

The Wrestler is an awesome movie, about an old wrestler who is trying to make a comeback after 20 years. The movie stars Mickey Rourke, and Marisa Tomei. The Wrestler follows the career and life of wrestler Randy "The Ram" Robinson. Along the way he tries to continue wrestling while many different things happen to him, like he tries to start over with his daughter, falls in love with Marisa Tomei's character Cassidy. There are many other things that happen throughout the movie, but I am not going to say anything, because I don't want to ruin the movie for the people who haven't seen it.
I really have to say that this is a great movie, for many reasons. The first reason why I honestly thought it was great, was because of the story. The story was great because you felt Randy's struggle. You did, you felt his struggle that Randy was going through to make it back to the big time even though it was going through the indies.
There are many other reason is how Randy fights the struggle to win back the hearts of the fan and the audience. Which might I add he does.
I will give this movie a 10 out of 10 on the star scale. Why? Because that's how much I enjoyed the movie!

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Get your stinking paws off me you damn dirty apes


I truly believe that people don't get the greatness of the Planet of the Apes Series. It is one of those series of movies that are so not to say bad, but badly acted, which is what makes it great. Everything being over acted also makes it great as well.
Speaking of over acting, Charlton Heston's over acting also makes this series of movies great.
One thing that makes me crack up with this is the story that was written thought this is what the future would be like, even though it isn't.
These are the things that make this series of movie great for me no matter what anyone says!!!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

FanBoys coming to a theater near you on Feb. 6


Fan Boys is a movie coming to a theater near you on Februray 6, 2009. It is a movie about a group of friends that break into Skywalker Ranch and try to steal the Star Wars stuff that is there. Right now, that is all I know, other than who worte the story. The person who came up with and/or wrote the story is Dan Pulick. There are some guest stars in the movie, such as Jay Mewes, Kevin Smith, and Captian James Tiberius Kirk, William Shattner.

Thursday, January 01, 2009

1-1-09 First blog of the New Year

This is my first blog of the New Year, and I am going to write about a few of the movies that I have received on DVD. One of them that I enjoyed was The Life and Times of Mr. Perfect. This tells about one of the greatest wrestlers of the 1980s early 1990s. This DVD tells about how he changed the world of wrestling, and how he changed people's life before his untimely death.
Another DVD that I watched was The Most Powerful Families in Wrestling. This one is self explanatory. so I don't think that I need to go into any details about that. It basically tells how they changed the world of wrestling.
Summer of Sam was another great movie that I had just finished watching on DVD. This is Spike Lee's depiction of 1977 known as the Summer of Sam. It tells the story about what happened when killer David Berkowitz, went around the five Burroughs killing brunettes. Throughout the movie Lee does two things. Number one is that Lee makes us feel like we are in 1977, and number two, he follows them main character of Vinny played by John Laguizamo. Lee also shows us people's reactions, and different ways people thought about who the killer was.
All of these were great so watch