Sunday, December 23, 2007

Warriors Come Out and Play!!!

The Warriors. What can I say about The Warriors? It is a very interesting movie, about a gang called the Warriors who have to battle to get back to their home turf in Coney Island. The thing that makes it hard for them to do this is that Luther, a member of another gang shoots Cyrus, the ultimate gang leader, and blames it on The Warriors. A call goes out over the radio, and every gang is out to get them. While in the process Swan who becomes the new leader of the Warrior, get a girl, Mercy, to start tagging along with him.
This movie showed the struggle of what happens when someone is challenged, and they have to defend themselves, and make it back to their "turf" to be safe. It also shows what happens what happens when you have friends to help you defend yourself. What else more do you need in a movie?
This movie was totally awesome. The entire time I knew that they were going to make it, but I wanted to see if they would. Out of a possible 10 stars I give it 9 7/8

Sunday, November 25, 2007

sequles

You ever notice in the movie world how some sequels are horrible even though the originals are great. One movie that falls into this category is The Sandlot.
The Sandlot is a great movie, directed by Mickey David Evans, the its sequel The Sandlot 2 is horrible. It is a cheap rip-off the original. The only difference in the movie is that a girl becomes one of the main characters. No, I am not saying that anything is wrong with that, but again this is a rip-off of the original.
Two thumbs down for the Sandlot 2

Friday, October 26, 2007

BARENAKED IN AMERICA

No, it's not what you think. No, it's not an adult film. Let me tell you this. Think of a band who's name has the words bare and naked in it. That's right it's a documentary about the Barenaked Ladies. It was directed by their fellow Canadian countryman Jason Priestly (Beverly Hills 90210 fame). He did this documentary to show the trials, tribulations, failures, and the successes of the Canadian band the Barenaked Ladies. It tells their trips from childhood to adult and the previous things mentioned. Priestly does a good job at showing how five from Canada can push themselves to succeed. Yes, they've had some set backs, like having one member of the band go into the hospital, because of Lukiema, and making his way back to the band.
This also tells how they all wound up meeting and how and why they decided to form a band called The Barenaked Ladies. One interesting fact that I learned while watching this was they got kicked off a Canadian music festival tour because of their name. The mayor of Toronto thought that they were naked women dancing and singing and told them they were not able to perform.

Monday, October 01, 2007

20+1+2=23, 8+6+6+3=23,

The Number 23 is a mystery movie starring Jim Carrey. It was a very interesting movie about how everything adds up to the number 23. This all starts when Carrey's character Walter reads a book called The Number 23. It tells a story about a kid named Fingerling who becomes a detective. He finds out that the lady who kills herself has a name that comes down to the number 23. I am not going to tell you how or why, except that it does. The book in the movie is written by someone named "Topsy Krett." That's top secret for those who don't get it. All in all The Number 23 was alot better than I thought it was going to be. This is all that I am going to tell you for now. Watch the rest and tell me what you think!!!!!!!!

Wednesday, September 12, 2007

28:06:42:12

Donnie Darko is a very interesting movie, that not a lot of people know about. It is about a kid, of course named Donnie Darko, who has mental problems. Through out the entire movie we follow the progress of what happens to Donnie, while he is in school home and whatever else he does. We follow Donnie throughout the 28 days that this movie takes place. In those 28 days many different things happen to him. He meets a girl named Gretchen; who becomes his girlfriend, exposes a motivational speaker who has child porn in his basement, and we meet his imaginary friend Frank The Bunny!
I know what you are thinking "Frank the Bunny?" I am not going to mention anymore about that character, so what I am trying to say is watch the movie and find out what I am talking about.
There are two things that stick out from this movie and they are; "...You can go suck a fuck." and the second thing is "What are Feces? Baby mice!"
My words of advice go see Donnie Darko!

Saturday, September 01, 2007

So many movies, so much crap.

Movies today, what can I say about them? There are plenty of things that I can say, whether or not it may be good or bad from my point of view compared to the movies that were around from when I was a wee lad, not that I was ever wee. The first thing I have to say is that most movies today loads of crap and are stupid. These movies that are supposed to be funny, wore themselves out after my freshman year of high school. I mean they would be even better if Chris Farley was still alive and teamed up with David Spade. Hell they would be funny if Phil Hartman was still alive as well. I know for many people do not find them funny, but they made me laugh my fat backside off back in the day.
The reason why I think most of the movies today are crap, is because they rip off many different movies that were done by Farley, Spade, and Mike Meyers, Dana Carvey and many different members of the SNL cast of the early to mid-80s to early 90s.
I know many people might not agree with this, but I don't really care about what they think. So, all in all, they should try and see things my way for a change.

Friday, August 24, 2007

Bigfoot, Pot, & Camping

These are three main topics in the movie Drawing Flies. This is one of the movies to be released by View askew Production. It is shot in black and white, which makes it more interesting to me. Drawing Flies stars Jason Lee as Donner, and Jason Mewes as Az. It tells the story of the two of them and their roommates.
How do Bigfoot, Pot, & Camping come into play? Bigfoot comes into play, because Donner watches an episode of the Twilight Zone, which makes a mention to bigfoot, and this is where the camping comes into play in the movie. It comes into play because Donner (Lee) cons everyone to go so he could find Bigfoot. Camping also comes into play because, Donner, Az, four of their roommates, didn't get their welfare checks that day. Since Donner saw that one episode, he decides that he wants to go find Bigfoot, and cons his roommates to go because his uncle has "a cabin in the woods." They start smoking pot on the trip so that ay they do not get bored on the trip with Donner.
I'll leave the ending out, but one thing this movie teaches us is: "A monster is a terrible thing to waste!"

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Masters of the Universe

Yes, I know that its been a while since I've last posted a blog entry. The last movie that I wound up watching was Masters of the Universe. This movie is an old 1980s movie that is so horrible, that it is great in a sense. There are many things that make this movie great. Don't get me wrong, there are better movies out there than this, but this movie reminds me of my childhood.
Let me ask you this. How many times do you get to see Dolph Lundgren run around in a fur covered speedo, leather straps, and a cape? HUH, HUH, HUH????? Bet you don't have an answer to that now do you? There are many more reasons why I like this movie, other than it bringing back memories of childhood. I mean most of the characters from the tv show were in the movie, but there could have been more.
Again, I know that this movie is bad, but I enjoy it anyway.

Saturday, July 21, 2007

Masters of the Universe

I honestly don't know how many people remember the movie Masters of the Universe starring Dolph Lundgren as He-Man, the hero of the He-man cartoons. It was a live action movie from 1987. It tells the story of what happens in a dream world of Julie Winston, played by Courtney Cox (of Friends fame). It tells the story of how Gwildor has a magical key that can allow him to transport to different dimensions. To get away from Skeletor played by Frank Langella, Gwildor takes himself, He-man, Man-at-Arms, and Teela to Julies home town. By doing that they had left the universe of Etrenia. The thing is that Skeletor's hench-woman Evil-Lynn has an extra copy of Gwildor's Key.
An entire adventure takes place throughout the town and has to keep everyone and save the Sorceress. I am not going to tell you what happens, so guess what? Go find it and watch it

Friday, July 20, 2007

One set of movies that I don't get

One set of movies that I don't get or wish to understand at all are the Harry Potter movies. I mean I get it's about some magical kid named Harry Potter. The thing that I don't get is what makes it so damn great. I can understand what makes other movies so great, and those things are action, adventure, story lines, characters, and what ever else goes into making a movie. To me the Harry Potter movies are for forty year-old virgins who still live in their mom and dads basement and play D&D for like eight or nine hours at a time.
I see no point in making a series about a kid who isn't really that important. I can say this knowing that the movies that I like are not important to everyone else, but, it's like who is really into this movies of magic and mystical sages other than the forty year-old virgin who lives in the basement and plays D&D. To me these movies should stop being made along with any movie starring Vin Diesel, Jennifer Aniston, Vince Vaughn, and any other crappy actor that just happened to get lucky.
I feel that Harry Potter is a huge waste of my time and a big waste of yours. It makes me think about why movies like this are actually made. Maybe my opinion about these movies is wrong, but a lot of people have the wrong opinion about the movies that I like. Until you the "faithful" Harry Potter viewer, hell maybe even viewers out there in this world, if there are more than one of you, give the movies I like a chance, don't go ragging on me!
So what I'm trying to get at is, Harry Potter is just about as interesting as a movie starring "The Rock."

Monday, July 16, 2007

Recent movies

Recently I have seen many different movies. Most of them have left me very or somewhat disappointed with the out at the end of the movie. Some of those movies have been Hot Fuzz, and Transformers. I don't know what it was about the two of these movies that were made lately, but it is like they need to be made a little, nay a lot better. It seems like today many movies are just being made for the sole purpose of being made (i.e. Harry "fucking" Potter, or any movie that The "Crock" was in).
Movies like this that everyone goes to see, that fizzle out in a week are the dumbest things I've ever seen previews for. I don't understand why people go to see a movie with The Rock in them. To tell people the Rock isn't that good of an actor. Hell, I am sorry to say this but Jason Mewes (Jay of Jay and Silent Bob fame), is a better actor than the Rock. I am sorry to say this and burst the bubble of many people that enjoy his acting skills.
I honestly don't understand why people get pissed off at me when I tell them this, but it is the truth

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

The Squid and The Whale

The Squid and The Whale, is an interesting movie that was entered into a New York independent film Festivle. It tells the story of the Berkman family. The parents of the family Bernard and Joan Berkman are professional writers; who eventually get a divorce.THey wind up sharing joint custody of their two kids Walt and Frank, who Joan calls "Pickle" and "Chicken." Many strange things happen throughout the course of this movie. Later on towards the end, we find out what the title of the movie means. The oldest son Walt mentions that when him and his mom went to the Museum of Natural history he was afriad of the Display of the Squid and the Whale in the mammal room.
I enjoyed this movie, because it shows us that every single family is not normal, and they have problems. In a way it tells you to respect your family, because they are the only one that you have.

Wednesday, June 06, 2007

Jackass Number Two


The last movie that I wound up watching was the movie Jackass Number Two. At first, I didn't think that it would be funny at all. I was proven wrong by that, because the usual suspects of Jackass made me laught my fat backside off. One thing that got me to laugh was the "card thrower segment involving 'Wee-Man.'"
I found this movie to be funny. one a scale of 1-10 i give it an 8.

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

More posts on the way

Yes, I know the posts haven't been put up that much lately, but there will be more rather soon. I say that because I've literally have watched every movie that I've watched and cannot write a review on every single one of them. I will work on watching new movies and writing new blog entries, but that will take time. Please be patient, because I can only watch one movie at a time.

Saturday, May 26, 2007

Poolhall Junkies


The last movie that I have watched for about the 15th time is Poolhall Junkies. This movie was co-written, directed by, an produced my Mars Callahan, who plays the lead role of Johnny Dole, who is a pool hustler. The other cast members are Christopher Walken, Chazz Palmentari, Rick Schorder and Alison Eastwood. This story tells us about the world of hustling in poolhalls, and that if you get into this world, you better be careful, because you don't know who is going to screw you. It also allows us to see inside this world of what happens. One a scale of 1-10 I give it an 8

Thursday, May 17, 2007

Jeepers Creepers where'd ya get those peepers


The last movie that I wound up watching was the movie Jeepers Creepers. It is a movie about two kids who are coming off on spring brak when all of a sudden they get rammed in the back of their car, then drives away. They wind up seeing the same truck down the road by an old church. Darry and his sister Trish, stop by the church after the creature pulls away in the truck that it hit them with and goes somewhere else. Darry and Trish stop by the chuch because they see this creature dump bodies down a pipe.
After a while they stop in a resteraunt and find out that this thing is following them and they have to escape. They hear this from a pyschic who tells them if they hear the song "Jeepers Creepers, where'd you get those peepers, Jeepers Creepers where'd you get those eyes?!"
To find out about everythign else watch the movie.

Saturday, April 28, 2007

Hot Fuzz

Today I went to see the Simon Pegg/Edgar Wright movie Hot Fuzz. I went to see it with my friend Rich. I was really, really into seeing this movie. I thought "hell I loved Shaun of the Dead, why won't I like this?" It was completely different from what I had thought. I was like "this movie is going to be great, Yeah Boy!" Boy was I wrong. It did not live up to its expectations. I was very Let down by this movie. I just took a guess at this being the "sophomore jinx." That is what it is, the "sophomore jinx."
Don't get me wrong Pegg and his co-star Nick Frost (who was Danny) are a great team together, and Frost did steal the show, but It just didn't work. It is kind of like making another Spice Girls movie.
On a scale of 1-10 this gets a 2!

Friday, April 06, 2007

Blades of Glory


Earlier today I saw the Jon Heder-Will Ferrell movie Blades of Glory. People who know me, know that I love seeing movies with the SNL alum in them. There are various SNL Alum I've see in movies; and they are Mike Meyers, Dana Carvey, Chris Farley, David Spade, Will Ferrell (whom I've mentioned be fore), Chris Kattan, Phil Hartman, Adam Sandler, and the list goes on.
As I've said before, I thought this was going to be a good movie that would make me laugh. Boy was I sadly Mistaken! This movie sucked worse than, how can I say this nicely, ummm a prostitute. I was and am completely let down by this movie. Only two minutes of this Movie were funny. The other 88 horrible. On a scale of 1-10 it gets a 32nd of a star

Sunday, March 18, 2007

Dogma



Dogma is the movie I will be talking about now. I will get back to the other movie that I mentioned before. I just wanted to mention Kevin Smith's movie, because It is one of those movies that can poke fun at religion and get away with it. There are such things that are done; such as the giant rubber poop monster and the "Holy Bartender" joke. This movie was decently done. I like this movies because it shows me that if anyone can poke fun of religion and get away with it, it's defiantly Kevin Smith! I give this a 7 out of 10 stars.

Friday, March 16, 2007

The Texas Chainsaw Blog


Sorry folks, I've just been a little side tracked with school and everything else that is going on around me. This next blog will be posted shortly. I promise, I really do. I will post on this as soon as possible!

Monday, February 26, 2007

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Begginning, Part 2, and part 3

The next three blogs I will write will be about Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning and Parts 2 & 3. I think I might just write one really long blog about them. This is the next set of movies that will make its appearance. I might even discuss the whole TCM franchise so to speak and tell you what I think about it.
Even though this is not a major group of horror movies like Halloween or Friday the 13th it is a great set of movies with the exception of the remake; just remember I'll get in to that in the next blog. So that is what is going to happen for you my very few readers that I d have.
So coming up shortly The Texas Chainsaw Massacre blog.

Wednesday, February 14, 2007

Stand By Me/Shaun of the Dead Blog

Yes, yes, I know. It's been two weeks since my last post about a movie. Sorry, I've just been very busy with trying to get ready for school. So I am going to do a two for one sale. You the readers of my blog, if there are any readers, get the Stand By Me/Shaun of the Dead entry today. Yes, yes, I know, that is a very odd combination to put together in a blog, but that is a choice that I chose to make. OK, I am going to start off this blog talking about Stand By Me.
Stand By Me was the movie based in Stephen King's novel of the same name. The movie was directed by Rob Riener (who you all may know as Michael Stivic aka "Meathead" from All in the Family). This movie was released in 1986, when I was a young lad of four years old. This movie takes place in the fictious city of Castle Rock, Oregon. The main characters in the movie are: Gordie Lachance (Wil Wheaton), Teddy Duchamp (Corey Feldman), Chris Chambers (River Phenoix), and Vern Tessio (Jerry O'Connell). During the movie we hear a voice-over from the character known as "The Writer," played by Richard Dryfuss (who is the grown-up Gordy), to help us tell the story.
The story start by us hearing in a voice-over that says "I was twelve going on thirteen the first time I saw a dead body." A few minutes late we see Gordy, Teddy and Chris in the tree house that they always hung out in. As they are playing cards, we hear someone knock on the tree house door, and the person gets told "that's not the secret knock!" Then we hear in response: "I forget the secret knock!" Then the other kids look at each other and say "VERN!"
Soon after entering the tree house Vern (O'Connell) asks the guys "hey you guys wanna see a dead body?" But before Vern can even get that out the other guys keep singing "I ran all the way home!" So he tells them that he heard his brother Billy and Charlie Hogan talking about the dead kid Ray Brower who got hit by a train on the back Harlow Roads. So they can go find the dead body of Ray Brower, Teddy, Vern, Chris, and Gordie come up with a plan so they don't get in trouble.
They set out to find the body, but what they don't know is that Billy Tessio, Vern's borther, and Charlie Hogan, had told the rest of their friends Ace (Kiefer Sutherland), and Eyeball Chambers (Chris' brother) about the body. Then they tell everyone. So by the end of the movie there is a stand-off for the body, but neither group takes it and they make an anonomuys phone call saying the body. So on a scale of 1-10 I give this movie a 9 1/2.
Now ladies and gerbils on to the Shaun of the Dead Blog. That's right I said Shaun of the Dead. It was the movie written by Simon Pegg, amd Edgar Wright. It takes place in England. It is a horror, comedy, love story rolled in to one movie. Shaun of the Dead came out in 2002. This is a very funny movie.
The main characters in the movie are Shaun, Ed, Liz, David, Mum, and Philip. Their jobs are to stay alive while the Zombie attack is going on around them in London. The thing you have to remember is if you get bitten you turn in to a zombie, and to kill a zombie, you must destroy the head and brain.
Through out the movie you hear repeated lines that get you to laugh. Som of those lines are: "You've got some red on you," and "Big Al says that dogs can't look up!," and "Who the hell put this on? It's on Random!"on a scale of 1-10 I give this an 8 8/9 stars

Wednesday, January 24, 2007

More on Now You Know

Now You Know was a very interesting movie movie written, directed, and produced by Jeff Anderson (Randall of Clerks I and Clerks II fame). This story is about a guy named Jeremy, played by Jeremy Sisto, who is about to get married to a girl named Kerri, played by Rashida Jones. We soon find out that their wedding is called off. The reason why, nobody knows; which is what we find out at the end of the movie. Yeah, like I'm going to tell you what that is. In the process this movie is really two stories in one. The first story is about Jeremy and Kerri, and the second story is about them and their friends, Marty (Heather Page Kent), Gil (Anderson), and Biscuit (Trevor Fehrman).
Marty is Kerri's best friend, whom we find out is pregnant, with Gil's child. This comes into play in the movie, but I am not telling you where.
Gil and Biscuit, are Jeremy's two best friends. Of course, they are the slackers of the binch. They "own" and "run" a laen-mowing business. Ninty-nine percent of the time they are drunk before noon. This is one thing that makes GIl and Biscuit work!
All in all, this was a very good movie. The writing and directing were very well done. Jeff Anderson did a very good job, considering it was his first directing job. On a scale of 1-10, I give this movie a 8. To some up this movie in the words of Jeff Anderson, "this movie is 'bisexual,' there is something for the guy, and something for the girls!" I just have to say after reading this you'll be "beating off guys with a hammer" to see it.

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

Now You Know

Pretty soon, meaning in the next day or two, I will be posting my blog review about the Jeff Anderson (Randall of Clerks and Clerks II fame) movie Now You Know. I will give the review of what I thought, the characters, the dialouge, and anything that has to deal with this movie. This is hopefully going to be a good movie, coming from the man who is trying to shed the "Randall" image. Again the post will be up in a couple of days. Ihope you will enjoy the blog as much as I will enjoy this movie

Friday, January 19, 2007

Man on the Moon part 2

Man on the Moon, the bio-pic about the life of Andy Kaufman, was an awesome movie. This told how Andy Kaufman did things in his life. It is an interesting movie, for any one who is a fan of Jim Carrey, or Andy Kaufman. I am not giving anything away, but it was a good movie 8 out of 10

Monday, January 15, 2007

Man on the Moon

The next movie that I will put a review up for is the Jim Carrey movie Man on the Moon. For those of you who don't know this is the bio-pic about Andy Kaufman. This review will be up shortly

Thursday, January 04, 2007

Saw III

For those of you who are saw fans, I just wanted to let you know that Saw III comes out on DVD in the middle to end of January!

Wednesday, January 03, 2007

1st blog post of 2007


One Dvd that I am going to give you a review of is the Brian Pillman Loose Cannon DVD. This talked about the life and times of former pro-wrestler "Fyin'" Brian Pillman. I am putting up the review of this, because I found it to be very interesting on how his life turned out from the times. One thing that I found interesting, which is also kind of sad, is that Pillman had to have 36 different throat opperations as a child. He was one of the greatest lightheavyweight wrestlers around of all time. Pillman revolutionized things like top rope manuevers, hurricanrannas, and all that other good stuff.