Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Planet of the Apes Book vs. Movie

I know out there in the world, a lot of books become movies. Some times the book stays completely true to the story, some times not so much. The reason I am bringing this up is because I am currently reading the book The Planet of the Apes, which the 1968 Charlton Heston movie is based on. So far I will say this, it is a very interesting story. Much better than I thought it would be 10 chapters in.

As I mentioned before, some movies may or may not stay true to the book. To me this is one of the books that does. I know some movie fans like myself will say I am crazy for saying this, but I can see where parts of the Mark Whalberg version came from.

Of course there will be some parts of the book that will not make it into the movie, but that's OK. I guess that makes both the book and the movie interesting in many different ways. I am not going to say what they are, because I really can't put it into words.

So If you can, go out and read the book!!



Thursday, November 24, 2011

The Christmas Movie Season

The Christmas movie season is upon us, and it happened way faster than we thought. I bring this up because, the last couple of weeks; five to be precise, I've been going to movie afternoon at the local bar.

Now, I just wanted to say that we've tried to go with a theme every week. For example, two weeks in a row, we did Halloween themed movies, then it was comedy, and so on. In the process of doing that, we also had the theme of Stanley Kubrick.

As I say that, I wanted to say that the next theme is holiday movies. Some of the ideas that I had were Santa Claus: The Movie, The Polar Express, Dr. Suess' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (animated and the Jim Carrey Version), and the Classics from the 1960s and 1970s, Santa Claus is Comin' to Town, Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, and The Little Drummer Boy.

Yes, that is quite a few, but if we do two a week, that should cover December 1st, 8th, 15th and 22nd. Hope all will be liked.

Wednesday, November 09, 2011

Favorite Directors

I know many people have their favorite parts of movies, whether it be actors, actresses, the music used, characters, or even the directors.

That's right I said directors folks. These are the men and women who help make the movie once everyone is cast, and the money is raised. Some people have their favorites, and least favorites, and I am one of those people. Don't get me wrong, I may not agree with your choices, and you may not agree with mine, but that's allowed to happen.

Right here is where I give you my favorite directors that put my large behind in the seats at the movie theaters.

One of my favorite directors is Martin Scorsese. Why? It is the way he uses camera angles, character development, dialogue, and music. He is one of the best at doing this in the last 25-30 years.

All of the things mentioned can be seen in his best film of all time Raging Bull. All of these are extremely well done in this movie. Scorsese really knows how to draw you in by using all of these.

My second favorite director is the man known for creating the role of Silent Bob. That's right folks it is Kevin Smith.

I know many people are why him? He's stupid. OK, you wanna know why, I'll tell ya why. It's because he has a great with his smart humor, which the to smart and the dullards in the world don't get. His characters are fantastic as well. They make you feel like these are girls and guys I would hang out.

That is all I have to say about that!

Saturday, October 15, 2011

I Was Wondering if Anyone Would Like to Cut Loose with Some Bacon


I just wanted to say that I have the video for movie Footloose playing on youtube as I write this. Why? So it could possibly give me some inspiration as I write this. OK, what can I say about this movie. Plenty of things. Will people agree with them? No, but they will see what I have to say, whether they like it or not.


First thing to say, awesome 1980s movie. I know many people will say, "how can you say this is an awesome 1980s movie if you were a kid when this came out?" My
answer: I might have been born in 1982, but I saw this movie, and enjoyed it. The reason why I enjoyed it was because of the cast.

Ah, the cast, another reason why I thought this movie was awesome. Footloose has some very famous people in it that most of us recognize. The first Kevin Bacon. The second John Lithgow, and the third Chris Penn. I know what you're thinking. Yes Chris' brother played Spicolli in Fast Times at Ridgemont High. OK, there ya go an 80s cross reference.

Now, going back to the cast. Kevin Bacon, ya know the star, the guy who played Ren. You might remember from other movies such as JFK, and A Few Good Men. Great in this role. Out of all the people in the 1980s who could've had the lead, as I've told people, "Nothing Better Than Bacon!"

Rev. Shaw, or should I say John Lithgow. Most of us know him from the film Harry and The Henderson's and Third Rock From The Sun. In this film, Lithgow plays the very strict bible thumping Rev. Shaw. Throughout Footloose he tries to hold the kids down because of past events.

Chris Penn. What can we say about Chris Penn. Well, he played Willard, the not so smart, bad dancing, funny guy to Kevin Bacon's Ren. "Nothing better than Chris Penn in this role!"

Now let's cut loose!

Saturday, October 01, 2011

Topic: Who Shot First Han or Greedo


I know that everyone has their opinions on the Star Wars movies. By that, I mean episodes I-VI. Let me just throw my opinion out there rather quickly, I enjoy Episodes IV, V, and VI, the best. My reasoning, you don't need to know how Vader became Vader, just know that he did.

One thing that annoys most, nay, in all the Stars Wars movies is the reedits that George Lucas did on the films after about thirty years.

Yes, I got picky and said the editing. The reason why is because editing helps tell a good story. I know that's the craziest thing any of you have ever heard. A reason why I bring this up, is because Lucas' reedits do not, I repeat, do not fit the film. There is one in particular that I'll talk about, and I know most of you are thinking of. The answer to that, yes, it is that scene that has been a topic of discussion for years.

Yes, the reedited scene I am going to talk about is: "The who shot first" scene. For those of you how don't remember, Han is trying to get out of the bar and is stopped by Greedo. Greedo and Han have an altercation while sitting at a table. In the original version, Han shot Greedo, and kills him. In the reedit, the scene starts as normal, then Greedo shoots at Han who "moves his head" then shoots Greedo.

The thing that I love about this, is that it has caused major arguments with people like myself, who have seen both versions. This scene has even made its way in to pop culture. In 2006, Kevin Smith makes a reference to this scene. This happens when Jason Lee's character Lance Dowd walks into Mooby's resteraunt and sees Dante and Randal working there. He goes on to say "we can stay here and argue about who shot first Han or Greedo, but I've got someplace to be."

Tell me what you think

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I'm Surprised That Halloween Isn't on Friday the 13th




As most of us know, the "paganistic holiday" of Halloween is showing up. So right now, I am going to be talking about a whole bunch of different horror movies, that thrill you, chill you, and fulfill you.

Yes, I know most people would ask me why. I'd tell them, "it's fun to get a scare on Halloween, that's why?" I do believe that is true, as long as it's harmless. Sure, some people think that I am nuts but who cares.

Now, on to the movies. Let's start with the Halloween Series. This is one of my favorite horror series. I can't really explain why, but it is. I guess one reason is because it's let's see how many times we can resurrect a psychopathic killer. Oh yeah, did I mention that the psychopath Michael Myers killed his sister on Halloween night when he was five. Does most of his killing in Haddonfield, Illinois.

What makes this series great is that it took to the very last one to put Mike away. Other than that, I love Rob Zombie's remakes of the first two Halloween films.

Friday the 13th. What can we say about this film series? Well 13 is an "unlucky" number. Yeah, "unlucky" just like all the characters that died in the films, including Corey Feldman, Kevin Bacon and Crispin Glover.

OK, OK, I know what most of you are thinking, this has the same kind of idea as Halloween. Crazy guy goes after people and kills them, then is resurrected for 10 movies. The only difference is that most of Jason's (the bad guys) killings take place in the woods near Camp Crystal Lake.

For those of you who don't know CCL is where Jason Vorhees drowned as a child because the counselors were not watching him when they should've been.

One word, three letters, seven movies, a psychological killer. That's right I'm talking about Saw. OK, I know many of you out there are not big fans of this series, but, I sirs and ladies, am.

This is a horror series that makes you think. I don't mean think "what's going to happen next?" I mean, "how will the person get out of the situation they're in." One thing that makes the Saw series different is that the killer never actually kills any one or lays a finger on them. Figure that out ladies and sirs.

OK, until next time, have a good night and a pleasant tomorrow!




Saturday, September 24, 2011

Now That's the Ticket


I know this is odd, but I am going to be writing this blog about former SNLer, Jon Lovitz. I know the two questions are: why Jon Lovitz?, and why is there some odd looking cartoon character on the right side?

Why I chose Jon Lovitz, is really can't say, and that odd goof ball cartoon character is Jay Sherman, who was voiced by Jon Lovitz on the show The Critic.

For those of you who don't remember The Critic, it was about a movie critic, who would give his reviews of movies on national television. The scale that he used was the Sher-mometer.

I enjoyed this cartoon a lot, so much that I even have it on DVD.

Now, back to first Jon Lovitz question. I guess it was to talk about his starring role in The Critic.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

I Have the Silliest Name in the Galaxy

"Crying is for babies, little girls, and men who've just had their ears ripped off!" These are the first words, that are spoken by one of the funniest characters, at least to me anyway, in movie history, Oobedoob Benubi.

For those of you who don't know, he is the very wise character in Steve Odekerk's parody, Thumb Wars: The Phantom Cuticle. He is the Obi-Wan character. In this movie he has to help and guide Loke Groundrunner, to be a strong leader of the "Thumbbellion."

Why is that some people will ask? It's because Dark Helmet man is trying to conquer the universe and trying to take over.

Now back to Oobedoob Benubi. I love this character, because he makes me as well as many other people laugh. Also, he has classic lines, such as, "I have the silliest name in the galaxy" and "touch your tongue to mine, you know, to make it all official!"

This is why he is my favorite character!

Thursday, September 15, 2011

A movie about pool


I'd say that about 99% of the time when people go to the movies, they don't go to see a movie about pocket billards, or "pool" as the cool kids call it.

Well that's what the story of Poolhall Junkies is all about. Well, it's actually about the under world of gambling on pool.

The story is told through the eyes of pool player Johnny Doyle (Mars Callahan). He tells his story starting from when he was fifteen years old, and how he was good enough to be the 51st player on a 50 player tour. The only thing stopping Johnny is his backer (the person who puts up his money), Joe (Chaz Palmentari).

As the film moves on we find out that Joe, threw out Johnny's invite from Toupee Jay. Toupee Jay was told by Joe, that Johnny had to finish school, and get an education. In a way, Johnny knew that Joe was holding him back. Johnny got back at him, when he was playing against Chico.

Now, I'm not going to tell you what happens in the rest of the movie. You have to find that out for yourself so go see this movie. on a scale of 1-10 i say 9 1/2

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

You Can't Get More Upset Than 12 Angry Men


When People think of a court case, they usually don't think of a film starring Henry Fonda. Well, it's true, no matter how much people want to admit it.

The film 12 Angry Men tells the story of twelve jurors who have to decide the fate of a young man who is on trial for murder.

As the movie starts, we see the judge in the courtroom send the twelve men into the deliberation room, to decide the young mans fate.

When all twelve men are in the deliberation room, we find out that 11 of the 12 men find the defendant guilty. The only juror who finds him not guilty is Fonda's character.

As the movie goes along, he tries to convince each of the other 11 jurors why the young man is not guilty. At first most of the jurors don't believe what he says. The whole time, Fonda's character has trouble with one juror until the end of the film. Of course you find out, but I'm not going to tell you what happens.

This movies teaches everyone a lesson, and so does the all-star cast, which includes, Fonda, Lee J. Cob, Ed Begely, Sr., Jack Klugman, E.G. Marshall, and Martin Balsam.

Go rent it and see it!

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Everyone is a Fan of a Bad Movie! Me Included!


I know every generation has a bad film that at least one person was a fan of. Me Included. My Favorite bad movie that I am a huge fan of is Masters of the Universe starring Dolph Lundgren as He-Man, the savior of Eternia.

So many people ask me why I love this movie, and the only answer I can give them is: it was awesome at five to see a cartoon come to life.

Yeah, that might not be a good for some people, but this isn't about them; it's about me.

Yes, this movie is bad, but when you were five years old, and saw one of your cartoon heroes come to life, you enjoy it too.

One thing that I disliked about the movie was that Orko was not involved. He was replaced by Gwildor, played by famous little person actor Billy Barty. Even though I didn't like that choice now almost 25 years after I saw this movie, it kind of makes sense.



Thursday, August 18, 2011

Ni! Who Are You? We Are the Knights Who say Ni!


Oh my God! A Monty Python Blog. I know! Very different from what I normally write about. Go ahead be very shocked. Why should you be shocked? Because I fart in your general direction. That's right I said I fart in your general direction.

I know I watch many different movies, which whatever readers I have of this blog have noticed, by why this? The reason is because after hearing so much about the movie, I decided to by a copy and watch it.

So, that is exactly what I did. Let me say this, Monty Python and the Holy Grail was a very funny movie. I know some things people might say are: "the British aren't funny," or "Holy Grail doesn't make sense." I agree with the first statement about the British not really being funny, but this is one of those few times where they were.

I just wanted to say that the story was original, which mad me laugh at times, the characters were interesting, and I felt like the run time was a little to long. I truly can say that everything went well together in this movie.

The 1-10 scale is ready and I give this film an 8

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Caeser Home


About a week ago, I saw the newest film in the Planet of the Apes franchise. The name of the film Rise of The Planet of the Apes. That's right folks another Planet of the Apes movie.

OK, OK, I know many people are going like "oh my god!" another one. Yes, another one. Sure, I know many people don't like this series, but I do. Just to let you know I have seen all of the original Planet of the Apes movies, and its remake starring Marky Mark Wahlberg. Bloody Hell, I even did a 13 page independent research paper on them, but that is a different story.

Now, on to the movie itself. When I went to see it, I being a POTA fan, I was expecting a lot of it. Was I right to? Yes, I was. The reason--well, maybe a strong reason is because I had seen all five of the original movies, because of my uncle Bill.

Again, let me get back on track, I wanted to say that I enjoyed the film because it had an awesome story line, character development, a great plot line and a good run time. I totally believe that all of these things made the movie great. Why? Because, each of those kept me interested through out the entire movie.

All I'm saying is, if you don't believe me, go see it. On a scale of 1-10, I say 9 out of 10.

Thursday, August 04, 2011

You Can Tell by the Way I Use My Walk I'm a Women's Man


The 1970s. New York. The Bee Gee's. Disco. Leisure Suits. John Travlota. That's right folks, it's Saturday Night Fever.

I have a feeling that people might ask me why I am writing about a movie that came out five years before I was born.

OK, if you really wanna know, I'll tell ya. For me, it has to deal with seeing what New York was like at the tail end of the 1970s into the 1980s. Also, it has to deal with see a movie about disco. How many people would want to see a disco movie. A lot of people apparently.

I, like many people, love this movie, because it gives you the feel of the disco era and a hope that, that time would never change and come back again one day.

Come on,we all know that is true. I mean hell I would love to go back to '77 and go to a disco and meet someone like Travolta's character of Tony Manero. Wouldn't we all?

I would say this movie personifies the 1970s. I give it a 10

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Does Barry Manilow Know You Raid His Wardrobe?


I know every generation has that one movie that stands out to the people who see it. Sometimes that it can be an awesome movie to generations after that.

Let me just say, The Breakfast Club is one of those movies. The Breakfast Club, allows everyone to see an interesting high school experience, that follows around five different students.

The main difference between this and every other high school movie is that it follows the students Andy (Emilio Estevez), Claire (Molly Ringwald), Brian (Anthony Michael Hall), Allison (Ally Sheedy), and John Bender (Judd Nelson), on a Saturday.

Why are they in school on a Saturday you might ask? Well, it's because they all have to serve detention for different reasons, which you find out about while watching the movie.

Even though I have been out of high school for some time; I still feel like I can relate to each character. I know that sounds odd, but it's true. The reason why I say that is because both you and I were both like these characters, or knew people who were like them. Don't lie you know you do!

I give this movie a 10 out of 10. If you don't like it, there gonna be a two hit fight; me hit you and you hitting the floor

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Another Video Game Movie post


When you hear the names Mario and Luigi, I can guess most of you think of the Super Mario Bros. If not, it was a popular video game in the late 1980's and early 1990's. I can also guess that most of you would not think of them as characters in a movie. Sorry to say this happened. The year was 1993, and the movie starred Bob Hoskins as Mario Mario, and John Leguizmo as his brother Luigi Mario.

The movie revolves around Mario and Luigi trying to save Princess Daisy from the evil King Koopa, who was played by Dennis Hopper. That's right Dennis Hopper from such movies as Apocalypse Now, Speed, and his most famous, Easy Rider.

They work to save the princess and I'm guessing about how that worked out. So on to the star scale. This movie gets a 4 out of 10 on the star scale. I know that was low.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

I live in GAAATHUMB CIty

There are many heroes out there and the greatest one of all is: Bat Thumb. He is the savior of GAAAThumb city.

The reason for that, he has to save the city from the evil No-Face. That's right I said No-Face. No-Face wants to stop Bat Thumb, and his sidekick Blue Jay, and make them faceless, like him. Why? So they can see what it's like to be a freak.

There is a struggle, but the Bat and Blue Jay survive and save the city. How I will not say!

From 1-10, I say 9

Thursday, June 23, 2011

ECW! ECW! ECW!

Since my last blog dealt with pro-wrestling, guess what, this one will too. This blog was sparked after watching ECW Wrestlepalooza '97. How could you possibly write about a wrestling pay-per-view thats 14 years old? I know that's what some people are thinking.

I'll tell ya. It sparked the blog for a few reasons. Let me start with one of them.

Reason one: The fact that ECW is no longer in business. The reason for that is not making enough money, or spending more than they had. Only one person can have the blame put on him. That man Paul Heyman. Don't get me wrong he knew how to market everything, but he wasn't a money person.

Reason Two: The rights to the company are owned by Vince McMahon. Who would've seen that coming? Probably many people!

Reason Three: Look at how many of those ECW guys that are either retired, working the indies, or dead.

I guess watching old wrestling like Wrestlepalooza can do that.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

David Arquette: The WCW Champion


Recently, I was thinking about the movie Ready To Rumble. This movie follows the story of two fans named Gordie (Arquette), and Sean (Caan),who are huge fan of pro-wrestling. The story involves Gordie and Sean following around and helping out their favorite wrestler, Jimmy King.

They do this, because they feel that King has lost his way, because he is an older wrestler (for WCW), and is put down by the other wrestlers. Gordie and Sean want to help King regain his World Heavyweight title, so that way he can regain his confidence.

Now on to other things. Let me say this, I enjoy bad movies, but this movie was so bad, that I don't know anyone who likes it. One major thing that made this bad was that World Championship Wrestling (WCW), had made David Arquette, their World's Champ.

This movie is so bad, it gets an NR for No Rating

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Knowledge only gained through curiosity

I know, many people are getting tired of seeing Charlie Chan blogs, but here's another one. The Chan movie that I am writing about is Charlie Chan at the Wax Museum.

I am writing about this film, because it is the most interesting Charlie Chan that I have watched so far. OK, let me tell ya about it. The film takes place after a criminal gets sent to tel electric chair for murder. The thing is that he tries to get out of it by changing his appearance. How does he do that? He goes to see his friend Dr. Cream, who has a surgical lab under his wax museum.

After that a group of people who don't want Charlie Chan to figure out who did it, they try and coax him in to the museum, and try to kill him. This makes the story interesting because, I wanted to see how or if Charlie would get out of it.

I gonna leave that to you to figure out what happens. Now on to what I like and dislike about the film.

One of the first things I like about the movie is that it stays all in one building, the Wax Museum. To me this makes the film a little easier to follow. Yes, many people will say that something like this makes the movie boring; ok I agree, it can, but in this case (no pun intended), it doesn't.

Thing two that makes the film interesting, is how Charlie's "favorite" son Jimmy is going to help him solve the case. Jimmy makes the movie work, for one or a few reasons.

The first reason is the comical relief. He is the comical relief, because he is not supposed to be there, and because his theories don't work. Also, he is always getting yelled at. Why is he getting yelled at, it is because he's screwing everything up.

Jimmy screwing up is the second reason why I like this film. Why, might some people ask. I tell you why. In some weird way, his screw-ups help find clues that Charlie can use. my question is: why is it if a person screws up, why is not seen help when he finds what you need?

What I dislike is that Jimmy is seen as a screw-up when he helps find clues. Maybe that is just me, then oh well.

There's nothing else I can say. OK, I say I give this movie an 8 out of 10

Thursday, May 12, 2011

A King GIving a Speech, Why Not!


A King giving a speech. That's something that's not really unheard of. I mean any person that comes into power in any country has to give a speech or two, whether they like it or not. The only thing is that it's incredibly hard when the person has a stuttering problem.

As the story goes along, the Duke of York's wife brings him to a doctor to help him end his problem. The "doctor" Lionel, uses many different methods to help stop the stuttering.

At first, it didn't seem like Lionel's methods would work. Well, at least I didn't think they would work. Let's just say that I was proved wrong.

The movie was very interesting, and kept me interested the entire times. I'll admit it can be kind of slow at certain points, but a great story, and camera work is involved. This film gets an 8 1/2 in my book!

Wednesday, May 04, 2011

JFK Blown Away What Else Do I Have to Say?


Recently I watched the Oliver Stone film JFK starring Kevin Costner. This is was a very interesting film that was about a lawyer named Jim Garrison (Costner), who wants to go back and take everything involving the Kennedy assassination to court, to prove that Lee Harvey Oswald was not the only gunman on, November 22, 1963.

As the film goes along, Garrison and his team of lawyers,want to prove how many other people were tied in to the assassination. They also want to link many different people to Oswald. Since Oswald is now dead, he was assassinated by Jack Ruby, it is impossible to bring him to court to testify. Some of the people they want to testify are David Ferrie (Joe Pesci), Clay Shaw/Bertrand (Tommy Lee Jones), Willie O'Keefe (Kevin Bacon), to prove that they were all connected to Oswald, and the Kennedy's Death.

Of course that's not what happened. Before they get to court, Ferrie is killed, and Shaw denies everything. I won't ruin the story for those of you who want to see it. I will say this: JFK really did prove to me that there was a second gunman on the grassy knoll.

On a scale of 1-10 I say 9!

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Of Gods and Men

Last night I saw the Lenten movie, Of Gods and Men, with a bunch of people from church. Being the movie lover I am, I said I'd go. I honestly thought this would be a some-what decent movie, I mean for one that happened to be about religion.

I will admit that the movie had an interesting story. It was about a bunch of priest/brothers who were living in a war torn country, and trying to help people who are less fortunate. While watching this film, I begin to feel like the story was to long and to drawn out. Yes, I know religious movies are supposed to show a majority of the story of some kind of "persecution," but this movie was turning into Lord of The Rings. I mean there were thirty-five false endings.

OK, I'll admit my view on religion isn't exactly like those of people who are over religious, but I mean come on, you can carry a story about religion so far. I know people are going to jump on me for that statement, but remember, your overly religious views aren't 100% correct either.

What I'm getting at is this: this movie was too long and not really a Lenten thing.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

The Movie Stlyings of Michael Keaton



There have been many movies starring Michael Keaton. Some of them have been good (Batman, and White Noise), and some of them have been bad (Multiplicity), but maybe those are just my opinions. Yeah, yeah, I know people who will tell me I'm nuts, but that is OK.

I know not a lot of people are fans of Mr. Keaton, but again, that's OK. I want to know what people think of his movies. From what I can remember, parts of the first Michael Keaton movie that I saw was Beetlejuice. I really don't remember much about it, but it seemed kind of cool.

Now on to the next movie. As it goes for Batman, I know that Keaton helped revolutionise the series, even though he's no Adam West, but he did make Batman cool again. I know people will give me hell for the Adam West comment, but who cares.

White Noise. Paranormal activity in a movie that involves Michael Keaton. Really? Really? Yeah, Really! I mean it was pretty good. I mean, come one it's better than the Justin Beiber movie.

Wednesday, April 06, 2011

Laurence "Cowboy Curtis" Fishburn

There is a reason why I am writing this movie blog about Laurence Fishburn; there is also a reason why I have a picture of Cowboy Curtis up there.

Now on to the reasons. On Saturday April 2nd, while going out with some friends of mine, we were having interesting conversations. One question that I brought up was what's one movie you could watch over and over again. People gave answers, and then the topic moved on to The Matrix.

After the conversation about The Matrix started, I stated I couldn't take the movie seriously because of Laurence Fishburn. Don't get me wrong, he's had other serious roles, but they were more believable. OK, I'll admit it is kind of hard for me to take him seriously.

Why? you maybe wondering. I'll Tell you why. It is because of his character Cowboy Curtis, from Pee-Wee's Playhouse. If you've never seen Pee-Wee's playhouse, let me explain the premise. It is a TV show about a "boy" named Pee-Wee, who lives in a playhouse and has his friends come over. Some of those friends are Tito, Miss Yvonne, Reba the Mail Lady, the King of Cartoons, Mrs. Steve, and of course Cowboy Curtis, played by Fishburn.

I'm sorry but how do you take a person in a serious TV or movie role when you know he played a cowboy with a Jheri Curl?

Tuesday, April 05, 2011

Horror Movies

I know many people have their favorite horror movies. I just wanted to speak about how or why each one works.

OK, I know people are going to disagree with me, but I want someone to share their opinions with me. I want people to tell me what you think.

Halloween- Works for many reasons. The first reason, Michael Myers doesn't have to say anything when he goes after his victims. The second reason, well to me at least has to deal with Michael's "super strength," so to speak. To me this is cool because it is so hard to bring him down. This is all I am going to say about this now.

Saw- For this series of horror films, it has to do with the mental state of John "Jigsaw" Kramer. This works for the series because he makes you saw what you did wrong, and that you made people feel miserable.

Friday the 13th- To me this has some of the same qualities as Halloween. Tell me if you agree.

Nightmare on Elm Street- Nothing better than a burnt up pedophile with a razor glove, who comes back to kill kids in their dreams. The dreams are what make him strong. Just remember don't fall asleep.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

The True Story of WrestleMania


Recently I have watched The True Story of WrestleMania. This DVD tells about how the idea for Wrestlemania came about, how hard it was to get it started, and what would have happened if it would've failed.

As the DVD goes along, we find out that every year the show was going to be bigger and better than the year before. This is what happens when the brain child behind this event is Vince McMahon. Yes, he is the genius who brought this event to the people.

The first couple of years (85-87), it had to be watched on closed circuit TV. Why? because PPV wasn't around then. Made sense. Also made more money for they comapny.

Ever since 1985, WrestleMania, has become more extravagant every year and will continue to do so. I say this deserves an 8

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Many different kinds of movies

This post is coming from something a friend of my friend Alex posted on facebook. His comment had to do with kinds of movie. I never really thought about it, but, there are different kinds of movies that come out in bunches. Some of those movies are: sports, video game, and movies based on TV shows.

The only reason why I decided to use this topic as a blog is because it is interesting, and gives movie goers something to think about.

Some sports movies that can fit into this blog are: Rudy, The Bad News Bears (Walter Matthau), Rookie of the Year, and countless others. I just chose those ones because they were the first ones that came to mind. I know, they are the ones that you may not like. Me, I like them. Why? Because, they get you to fall in love with the main characters in some way. That's my opinion.

Right now the video game movies that come to mind are Street Fighter, and Mortal Kombat. Again, I chose these, because they are the ones that I saw and found enjoyable. Go ahead disagree, it's your right.

One TV show that was made into a movie that I enjoyed was Masters of the Universe based on the He-man cartoon. What made this movie so good was that it was so awful. Oh yeah, I was five when I first saw it.

Friday, March 18, 2011

That's Jenga


On Friday March 18, 2011, I the author of this blog, saw the Simon Pegg/Nick Frost written movie Paul. There are some things that I did like about it and some that I didn't.

One of the first things that I liked was the cast, which consisted of Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Jason Bateman, Sigorney Weaver, and Seth Rogen as the Voice of Paul. The cast well assembled in my opinion with the exception of Rogen who I am not a big fan of.

Second thing that I like was the story. Why? It was well written, it certainly filled the 100 minutes, and it kept you watching the screen the entire time.

One thing I didn't like was the comedy moments. To me the attempt was there, but it didn't stick. Maybe it's just me, or maybe my sense of humor got up and left.

I give this movie a 5 1/2

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

These Guys Are a Bunch of Jackasses


I know not many people are fans of the Jackass franchise, but I find it funny. Many people might actually ask, "these guys actually made a movie?" Three to be precise.

I'll admit the stuff they do in movies is stupid, but it is hilarious. Am I saying the stunts of Jackass and Jackass 2 are smart and intelligent? No, but they seem to be thought out.

I know the thought out comment doesn't make sense, but in a weird way it does. Yes, I know there will be people who will be up my ass for that statement, but that is how I feel.

Also, I found the first two Jackass movies were funny. After I watch the third one, I'll write about that. On a scale of 1-10 I give Jackass an 8 and Jackass 2 a 8.5

Tuesday, March 08, 2011

I Saw This Movie in 3-D


Yes, this is another one of my painstakingly boring Saw Blogs. OK, so here I am to talk about it anyway. I know many people will be thinking "Oh God, not another blog."

This had to be the best and most interesting movie out of the seven. One of the many reasons is because, it had the only trap that was held outside. Do I know why that stands out to me? No, but I am not really sure how to say it.

I guess it is because of the return of some old Characters, the traps being even more gruesome, the rivalry between Jill (Jigsaw's widow), and Hoffman (a corrupt police detective).

Another reason why Saw 3-D was interesting, was the return of Dr. Gordon from the Saw film. Was this a smart move to bring him back this late? Yes, and no. Yes, because you kept wondering what happened to him. It wasn't smart to bring him back this late for the same reason.

I mean it was smarter to hold out on Gordon coming back this later. Why? because it's like did he survive? did he die? will they find him? I totally agree with this choice. Why? Because you knew he was going to come back, but when. Also, if he was coming back, it made you think is Gordon going to carry on Jigsaw's work?

Unfortunately, I'm not gonna say everything. Go see it.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

A movie with Classy Freddie Blassie


That's right folks. You read that title correctly. A movie that starred legendary wrestling manager Classy Freddie Blassie.

That movie, My Breakfast with Blassie, starring Blassie, and comedian of the time, the supposedly dead Andy Kaufman.

What the movie is, is well a documentary of Andy and Blassie, meeting at a restaurant in California called Sambo's for breakfast. When the movie starts, we see Andy traveling on the bus to the restaurant to meet Freddie.

What makes this movie very interesting, is that the camera stays in one spot and we hear their view on things. Some things both men talk about are how they hate to shake peoples hands.

I know to us that sounds like nonsense, but I guess that when you are famous like these guys were, you can do what you want.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Dig Me Pygmy

Yes, I know I've covered and written about odd movies I've watched. By far, Bad Biology is the oddest and weirdest movie I've seen. I know, why did I watch it then? OK, here's your answer: recommendation of a friend.

Do I normally follow a recommendation? No, I don't. The main reason is that they are bad, and the person doesn't know what they are talking about. In this case, I decided to take it, so I can see for myself, and see what my buddy Nigel was talking about.

Now, on to the story. The two main characters are considered freaks. Freaks you ask? Yes! They are considered freaks because of their private parts. Yes, I know many people are wondering why I'd watch Bad Biology.

There are a few reasons. Some simple, some not so simple. I'll try and explain if I can.

Here are the reasons:

1.Recommendation- easy stuff

2.Interesting story- Somewhat of an easy answer. Not giving any thing away.


Thursday, February 17, 2011

A Great Movie I Think So


Whether or not you agree with the critics, they say that Citizen Kane is the greatest movie ever made. I know what you're thinking, and yes, I agree with them.

I know this film directed and starring Orson Welles, which was released in 1941, came out 41 years before I was born, but it is great. For that time, the techniques, lighting story telling, and acting were very well done.

The story of Charles Forster Kane, played by Welles, is the story of a man who we see die at the beginning of the film. As the film goes along through the stories of former friends, we have to try and figure out what his last word of "Rosebud" means.

No, I won't tell what it is. So, I say go out watch this film; find out what or who Rosebud is and figure out if this base on the life of William Randolph Hearst.

This is a 10 in my book

Monday, February 14, 2011

Raul Julia, Jean-Claude Van Dam, Ken and Ryu


I know what people are thinking; and that's "Oh Jesus! Another video game blog!" Yes, that's right!

I know that I did Mortal Kombat some time ago, but now it is time for the greatness of Street Fighter.

Out there I know someone is going Street Fighter you say? Yes, I say. I decided to write about this movie just because Raul Julia (Gomez Addams, Addams Family movie), and Jean-Claude Van Dam (Blood Sport), kept this movie a float.

Like Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter is the story of good versus evil video game characters. The leader of the good William F. Guile (Van Dam). The leader of the bad M. Bison (Raul Julia).

Like Mortal Kombat, to get the full experience, you have to go out and watch this film. OK, if you want don't trust me, but you don't know what you are missing!!

Friday, February 11, 2011

We're off to see the Wizard on Jeopardy!?

As I write this, people might think I am nuts. Why I am writing this? February 11th episode of Jeopardy! That's right I said Jeopardy!

Yes, I know watching Jeopardy! maybe an odd reason to be writing a blog about a movie, but it seems like an interesting reason not to.

The reason why I chose to write this blog because of the Final Jeopardy tonight! It was: In this famous 1930s movie, one of the characters misquoted the Pythagorean Theory.

I think it is truly interesting that the people on this game show would choose something this easy. I mean what were they thinking? I mean what's next Gone With the Wind.

I am truly depressed that two of the jackwagons on the show got it wrong! Wrong I say Wrong!!!!!!!!

Wednesday, February 09, 2011

A Rob Riener Rite de Passage Movie


I know when people think of 1980s Rite de Passage films, they think of John Hughes, not Rob Riener. Most people wouldn't think of Stand By Me as one of these films. Why not?, I'd ask. The response is "because this is a stupid movie!"

I would snap back at the other person, "Is there something wrong with you? Are you mildly retarded?" Then this is when they get mad at me. To tell you the truth they are. The reason why I say that, is because people who don't realize that is a coming of age film, is blinder than Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles, and a homeless guy on a NYC subway.

Of course, when I tell them this, they get pissed at me. I mean yeah, everyone can see a story in a movie their own way, but if I tell you that the four kids in the movie are trying to become adults by trying to find the body of a dead kid, it should be as plain as the nose on your face, that the movie is a coming of age film.

So, Stand By Me is a coming of age film that most people will get. Most people will understand that. The people who don't get that are the biggest dullards on the face of the earth.

Monday, February 07, 2011

A long while Since my last post

Yes, I know it's been a while since my last post. As many people know there are a lot of new movies coming out, and let me tell you, most, nay, all of them look like crap. They are new crappy movies or continuations of bad and crappy movies.

Why do I put down movies?, some of you might ask. I 'll let you know why. The reason why I rag on movies, is because many of them are bad, and because I am a film student, I have the right to do it. I know what many of you are going to say, and that is, "I'd like to see many of those movies." OK, I know you have a right to see the movies that you like, but if I tell you that a movie is bad, DON'T GO SEE IT DOUCHEBAG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Again, how many times do I have to tell you that when it comes to movies, listen to me!!!!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Should Some Movies Have sequels

I have a question for you movie watchers out there? That question is: Should some movies have sequels?

There are different views on it, and I will give you my readers, mine. OK, so how to look at this? This is tough, but I am headed to that point now.

If the series has a character that is needed in the story-line, yes, make sequels. Why? I say that you should make the sequels with a certain character, just say Freddy, Jason, or Micheal Myers, people will be interested to see what happens with them next. People will want to see how they will survive, and how many people they will take out to live.

For the same reason you might not want to make to many sequels. Why? People will get tired of the characters and want something new out of the characters, creators, and the series.

Another reason for keeping up with sequels is to see how many different stories the writing/creative time can come up with.

I know this is short but these are my opinions

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

The Cleveland Show

Many people may know, but some people may not, but I am a fan of The Cleveland Show. The Cleveland Show was created by Seth Macfarlane, who is also the creative genius behind Family Guy and American Dad. I am writing about The Cleveland Show, because I recently started watching the complete first season on DVD.

One reason why I am watching this, is because I am a fan of Macfarlane's other shows, which I previously mentioned.

Now that I've said that, let me tell you a little bit about what The Cleveland Show is all about. It is a spin-off show starring Cleveland Brown, one of the main characters from Family Guy. The show starts out with Cleveland and his son Cleveland, Jr. going to move to California. That doesn't exactly happen. What happens is that Cleveland meets his old crush Donna, and falls in love with and the rest is it from there.

No, I'm not gonna talk about every episode for a few reasons. Those are: 1) to many wacky adventures, and 2) to much time. So just remember to watch!

Monday, January 03, 2011

My post-Christmas, First 2011 post

The holidays were great in the movie category. Plenty of DVD's came my way. As of January 3, 2011, my collection is up to 648 different movies.

For those of you who want to ask, the answer is, yes, I have started to watch some of the movies/TV series that I have on DVD. Yes, I will admit that it'll take me a very long time to watch all off these, but I will do it. How long will it take me? I can't really say. I don't really know.

I have a feeling, the next question will be: "what movie will be next?" My answer: it's kind of like poker it's 100% random. I don't know what order, I don't know what time of day, I don't know if it is going to be comedy, crime, TV show, I just don't know.

Hopefully soon I will post some reviews